The Council for Advancement and Support of Education, based in New York, has recognized three psychologists with high honors:

Lewis and Clark College associate professor Jerusha Detweiler-Bedell, PhD, has been named the 2008 Baccalaureate College Professor of the Year for her achievements in engaging undergraduates in the classroom and in the research lab.

University of North Carolina–Wilmington professor and Honors Scholars Program Director Katherine E. Bruce, PhD, won the 2008 North Carolina Professor of the Year award for her influence on teaching and commitment to undergraduate students.

Kelly Lambert, PhD, the Macon and Joan Brock Professor of Psychology at Randolph-Macon College, was named Virginia Professor of the Year, recognizing the special attention she pays to undergraduate student research in her behavioral neuroscience laboratory.

International Association of Empirical Aesthetics has given University of California–San Diego professor, Diana Deutsch PhD, the Gustav Theodor Fechner Award for Outstanding Contributions to Empirical Aesthetics for her work with the psychology of music and memory for sounds. Deutsch has discovered a number of musical illusions and paradoxes including the octave illusion, the scale illusion and the tritone paradox.

The National Institute of Justice awarded Arizona State University professor Dawn McQuiston-Surrett, PhD, a $496,450 grant to research jurors' decision-making about forensic science expert evidence. McQuiston-Surrett, who will share the grant and collaborate with two ASU professors from the Sandra Day O'Connor College School of Law, Jonathan Koehler and Michael Saks, is conducting research on the ways and reasons why jurors respond to such forensic evidence as fingerprints and bite marks.

J. Bruce Overmier, PhD, a University of Minnesota professor, was elected to the scientific community International Council for Science, the governing body based in Paris. The International Union for Psychological Science committee nominated Overmier to serve on the international council where he increases psychology's international reach. Overmier is the only social scientist on the council.

Anne Treisman, PhD, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Psychology at Princeton University, is the ninth Grawemeyer psychology prize winner. The University of Louisville honored her for her work to understand how our brains build meaningful images from different bits of information. In 1980, Treisman proposed her theory of feature integration—the idea that attention acts as an inner spotlight in the brain, rapidly scanning features such as color, shape, distance and motion into a whole. This theory is still used today for many applications including training airport baggage inspectors to detect weapons, designing stimulating classrooms for children and helping people differentiate among medications.

—J. Clark