Erin Emery, PhD, director of geriatric and rehabilitation psychology at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago, received a $1.2 million grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration for her work with older people in Chicago's Near West Side. Emery's project addresses the growing need to identify and treat mental health problems in underserved geriatric communities.

She is creating a network of occupational therapists, physical therapists, dieticians, psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers and chaplains connected through e-mail and telephone conferences to conduct "virtual staffing" around each patient, a plan that could serve 1,800 older adults.

The Schenectady (N.Y.) School District has inducted former student M. Duncan Stanton, PhD, professor emeritus at Spalding University in Louisville, Ky., into its Hall of Fame for his research on how substance abuse affects families. Stanton received a Bronze Star for his research on drug use among Army personnel in Vietnam and, in 2001, received a Presidential Citation from APA.

David Matsumoto, PhD, of San Francisco State University, has received one of the first seven Minerva grants from the U.S. Department of Defense to support research that can inform national security and build bridges between the department and the social science community. With the five-year grant, Matsumoto will lead a project that aims to understand how and why emotions can turn angry or fearful groups violent.

—J. Clark

Presidential award winners

Four psychologists were among the winners of the White House's 2007 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers. The award is the highest honor the U.S. government bestows upon professionals at the outset of independent research careers.

University of Buffalo psychology professor Greg Fabiano, PhD, won for his innovative behavioral modification treatments for children with attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder that involve establishing daily benchmarks for parents and teachers.

Jeremy Gray, PhD, of Yale University, won for his work showing how cognitive and affective processes are integral to self control and intelligence.

University of Notre Dame's Nicole M. McNeil, PhD, won for her research on how small changes in the way children practice and learn math can help or hinder the transition to algebra.

University of Texas at El Paso psychology professor Laura E. O'Dell, PhD, received the award for her work on the neurobehavioral mechanisms that mediate adolescent tobacco use.