State Leadership Conference

Awards presented during the State Leadership Conference:

• APAPO State Legislator of the Year Award: North Carolina Rep. Martha Alexander (D-Mecklenburg), in recognition of her long-standing efforts to achieve parity and improve the mental health system in North Carolina.

• APA Outstanding Leadership Award: U.S. Sen. Jeff Bingaman (D-N.M.), in recognition of his championing the restoration of Medicare reimbursement that was cut from outpatient mental health services in 2007, strongly supporting the Wellstone-Domenici mental health parity legislation and advocating improved health-care coverage for all Americans.

• APAPO Federal Advocacy Coordinator Award: George Watson, PhD, for excellence in advancing the profession of psychology through federal advocacy in the state of Montana.

• APA Committee of State Leaders State Leadership Award: Antonio Puente, PhD, of North Carolina, for his exceptional service to the profession of psychology as a legislative and health-care advocate, teacher, professional officer and practitioner.

• APA Div. 31 (State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association—SPTA—Affairs) Outstanding SPTA Staff Member Award: Sheila Comerford, executive director of the Maine Psychological Association, for her efforts in promoting an active and engaged membership.

• APA Div. 31 Most Outstanding SPTA Award: Michigan Psychological Association for its success in the public policy arena while strengthening its financial position and advocacy role.

• APA Div. 31 SPTA Diversity Award: New Mexico Psychological Association for developing an innovative program that provides a selection of diversity and multicultural educational materials to their members and to the mental health community in New Mexico.

• American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) Award for an Outstanding State, Provincial or Territorial Psychological Association of the Year: Ohio Psychological Association for superior performance in promoting graduate student development, involvement and joint APAGS/SPTA membership. This award is co-sponsored by the APA Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice and Div. 31.

• APA President James Bray, PhD, presented presidential citations to Mary K. Alvord, PhD, of Maryland, for her innovative practice and Gilbert Newman, PhD, of Florida, for his contributions to professional education and practice.