The National Association of School Psychologists has honored Constance E. Adams, EdD, for her mental health advocacy on behalf of students and their families. As the director of school psychology services for Madison County Schools in Kentucky, Adams has implemented anti-bullying programs, created emergency procedures for district staff and improved mental health services for students and their families.

Dorothy W. Cantor, PsyD, joined the ranks of Rutgers University's Hall of Distinguished Alumni on May 2, honored for her contributions to the field of psychodynamic therapy. Cantor was a member of Rutgers's first Graduate School of Applied and Personality Psychology class in 1976. She spent her career working as a clinician, but also worked to support the growth of the PsyD degree nationwide. Cantor has always been an advocate for patients' rights and for the development of women leaders in APA. As 1996 APA president, she oversaw the publication of the "Your Mental Health Rights" handbook, which addresses the intrusion of managed care into the psychotherapy relationship. This document helped shape sections of the federal "Patient Bill of Rights." Cantor is president of the American Psychological Foundation.

Lawrence H. Gerstein, PhD, won the Ball State University Outstanding Research Award, in part, for his research on social justice, cross-cultural counseling and loneliness. He co-created a scale and used it to measure the affective components of loneliness. Gerstein also spent 10 years researching employee-assistance programs and developed two models to explain how employees receive help in the workplace and tools to measure the use of EAPs. Gerstein directs the counseling psychology doctoral program and the university's Center for Peace and Conflict Studies.

For the first time, the American College of Nuclear Medicine has awarded its Gold Medal to a psychologist: Ronald S. Tikofsky, PhD, a radiology professor at Columbia University, who received the award for his achievements in nuclear medicine. In his research, he uses fMRI and PET brain-imaging technology to better understand dementia and the structure of language. Tikofsky is most famous for his early adoption and continued use of brain-imaging scanners to break down and understand language patterns and determine how brain activation can distinguish different types of dementia in patients.

Two University of North Carolina–Chapel Hill psychology professors have earned top teaching honors from the university. Mitch Prinstein, PhD, director of the university's clinical psychology program, has won the $7,500 Tanner Award for his excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level. Prinstein is known for his class exercises, one of which involved printing more than 100 yellow shirts that read "Voted most popular at UNC" so students could conduct a large-scale experiment on peer reaction. David Penn, PhD, the clinical psychology program's associate director, won the $5,000 Distinguished Teaching Award for Post-Baccalaureate Instruction for his approach to mentoring graduate students that includes treating every encounter with students as an opportunity for learning. His approach has allowed Penn to build close and open professional relationships with his students.

—J. Clark