American Psychological Foundation

Placek grants awarded to two doctoral students

Two doctoral students, T. Andrew Caswell and Bethany Everett, received 2009 Wayne F. Placek Grants, which aim to increase the public's understanding of homosexuality and sexual orientation and alleviate the stress that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people experience.

T. Andrew Caswell, a social psychology doctoral student at the University of South Florida, is researching the ways people form moral judgments about same-sex behaviors and same-sex marriage and examining the role of emotions in forming these judgments.

Bethany Everett, a doctoral student in sociology at the University of Colorado, Boulder, is exploring the links among discrimination, mental health, and cardiovascular and immune function. Her dissertation research will examine lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender health disparities during people's transition from adolescence to adulthood.

Travel grant sends student to convention

Katie Eklund received this year's Paul Henkin Travel Grant, which defers the costs of registration, lodging and travel for student members of APA's Div. 16 (School). Eklund is a doctoral student at the University of California, Santa Barbara, in the counseling, clinical and school psychology program.

Nominate your colleagues for a $50,000 prize

The Cummings PSYCHE Prize recognizes an individual whose career as a primary-care provider has expanded the role of psychologists working side-by-side with primary-care physicians in health-care systems.

Nominees for the $50,000 prize must be licensed, practicing psychologists with a minimum of 10 years' experience. They must work in integrated primary-care settings that focus on comprehensive medical delivery rather than a specialized program dealing with one disease or issue. Nominees must demonstrate a record of past accomplishment, as well as future plans to expand the acceptance of psychologists as behavioral care providers who work with physicians in primary health-care settings. The deadline for nominations is Dec. 1. More information is available online. 

Upcoming APF deadlines


• Lizette Peterson Homer Injury Research Grant: Oct. 1


• AAPA APF Okura Mental Health Leadership Foundation Fellowship: Nov. 1

• Roy Scrivner Research Grants: Nov. 1

• Theodore Blau Early Career Award: Nov. 1

• Annette U. Rickel Public Policy Research Award: Nov. 1

• Theodore Millon Award: Nov. 1

• Counseling Psychology Grants: Nov. 1

• Elizabeth Munsterberg Koppitz Fellowships: Nov. 15


• Charles Brewer Distinguished Teaching Award: Dec. 1

• Gold Medal Awards: Dec. 1

• Cummings PSYCHE Prize: Dec. 1

• Wundt-James Transatlantic Psychology Award: Dec. 15

For more information about APF's funding programs, visit or contact Kimberly Rowsome at (202) 336-5622.