• APA member Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, PhD, is now a member of the Institute of Medicine. Election to the institute is considered one of the highest honors in the health and medicine fields. Brooks-Gunn, who teaches child development at Columbia University, is recognized for her policy-oriented research, which examines family and community influences on developing children.

  • The University of California, Merced, has awarded Faye Crosby, PhD, its Alice and Clifford Spendlove Prize in Social Justice, Diplomacy and Tolerance. Crosby, a social psychology professor at the University of California, Santa Cruz, received the award for her work investigating people’s responses to affirmative action. Crosby discovered why people often see themselves as exempt from injustices that affect groups with which they identify.

  • The University of Wisconsin, Green Bay’s, Regan A.R. Gurung, PhD, is the Wisconsin Professor of the Year, according to the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. Gurung, who teaches human development, is well known for working with students on independent projects and for knowing all his students by name, even those in his large lectures.

  • The Academy of Spinal Cord Injury Professionals has appointed Sigmund Hough, PhD, a clinical rehabilitation neuropsychologist with the VA Boston Healthcare System and Harvard Medical School, to its governance board and to serve as president of its Psychologists and Social Workers section. The academy represents interdisciplinary dedication to advancing the care of people with spinal cord injury and dysfunction.

  • The American Board of Professional Psychology has given APA former President Ronald F. Levant, EdD, the Distinguished Service to the Profession of Psychology Award. Levant, a professor of psychology at the University of Akron in Ohio, received the award for his work understanding the new psychology of men, including his work on fathering and ideals of masculinity across cultures.

  • The Collaborative Family Healthcare Association gave Susan H. McDaniel, PhD, its Donald Bloch Award for Contribution to Collaborative Family Healthcare. McDaniel, a professor at the University of Rochester Medical Center, was honored for her work training psychologists and physicians to work together and acknowledge the roles of mind, body and society when treating illness and disease.

  • Richard L. Miller, PhD, a psychology professor at the University of Nebraska at Kearney, was named Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. Miller, who was one of four professors to receive the honor, is a well-loved mentor who designs optional lab experiences for all his classes that allow small groups to define and investigate a real question that could — and often does — lead to a new discovery. Many have presented and published their research results.

  • Toyota and WJLA-TV gave their Working Women award to Barbara Van Dahlen, PhD, and six other Washington, D.C.-area women. Van Dahlen received the award for founding the Give an Hour program, a mental health service for military personnel and their families.

—J. Clark