American Psychological Foundation

Students attend APA’s Annual Convention, thanks to APF

Steven Ungerleider, PhD, created the APF Ungerleider/Zimbardo Travel Scholarships to assist graduate students in attending the APA Convention. APF sent seven students to APA’s 2010 Annual Convention in San Diego:

  • Wai Sze “Trista” Chan of Indiana University, who researches cognitive mechanisms in eating disorders and eating problems, and how they are developed.

  • James P. Clifton of Humboldt State University, who studies public attitudes toward social policies, quantitative psychology and research methodology.

  • Danya M. Corkin of the University of Houston, who studies how to increase women’s and ethnic-minority participation in math and science fields.

  • Rodica Damian of the University of California, Davis, who studies emotion and creativity through historiometrics, personality assessments and lab experiments.

  • Paul R. Hernandez of the University of Connecticut, who studies the longitudinal efficacy of programs that support minority students working in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.

  • Lisa M. Jaremka of the University of California, Santa Barbara, who examines interpersonal relationships through the intersection of the self on close relationships; responses to rejection; and other threats of belonging and social support processes.

  • Adrienne B. Perkins of Georgia State University, who studies the long-term psychological adjustment of students who have witnessed school or community violence.

APF meets with the nation’s leading psychology teachers

Renowned teacher Charles L. Brewer, PhD, brought together nine past winners of APF’s Charles Brewer’s Distinguished Teaching Award on Aug. 14 during APA’s Annual Convention in San Diego. The group gathered to talk about trends in psychology education, the needs of psychology students and APF’s role in helping to meet these needs.

Past winners in attendance included Victor Benassi, PhD, Bernard Beins, PhD, Diane Halpern, PhD, Douglas Candland, PhD, William Hill, PhD, Wilbert J. McKeachie, PhD, Scott Plous, PhD, Randolph Smith, PhD, and Michael Wertheimer, PhD.

APF has given the Distinguished Teaching Award since 1970. In 2000, the foundation named the award after Brewer to recognize his outstanding role as a teacher of psychology.

Upcoming deadlines

November 2010

December 2010