Science Leadership Conference

APA gave Awards for Distinguished Service to Psychological Science at the Science Leadership Conference to psychologists who have made contributions to psychological science through their dedication to service within the field:

  • Mark I. Appelbaum, PhD, University of California, San Diego. Appelbaum is the founding editor of Psychological Methods and served as editor of Psychological Bulletin. He also served on APA’s Publications and Communications Board and chaired the APA Publications Manual revision committee. Appelbaum also was president of Div. 5 (Evaluation, Measurement and Statistics) and served on the executive committee of the Federation of Behavioral, Psychological and Cognitive Science.

  • Morton Ann Gernsbacher, PhDMorton Ann Gernsbacher, PhD, University of Wisconsin–Madison. Gernsbacher has held many leadership positions within the field of psychology, including serving as president of the Association of Psychological Science and the Federation of Behavioral, Psychological and Cognitive Science, being on the governing board of the Psychonomic Society, and chairing the Board of Scientific Affairs. She also served on boards and committees within the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Cognitive Science Committee and the Midwestern Psychological Association.

  • John W. Hagen, PhD, University of Michigan. For the past 20 years, Hagen has co-chaired the National Head Start Conferences and spoken on behalf of the Head Start program to numerous policymakers. He also served as executive Officer of the Society for Research in Child Development. Hagen has encouraged increased diversity at the University of Michigan and within the field of psychology.

    APA awarded Meritorious Research Service Commendations to psychologists who have contributed to psychological science through their service as staff of the federal government or other organizations:

  • W. Rodney Hammond, PhD (©David Snyder/CDC Foundation)W. Rodney Hammond, PhD, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Hammond serves as director of the Division of Youth Violence Prevention within the CDC and has helped develop numerous programs designed to better understand why youth violence happens and what can be done to stop it.

  • C. Tracy Orleans, PhD, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. In her tenure as senior scientist at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, Orleans has directed several national campaigns to promote healthy behaviors, prevent disease and curb tobacco use. Among her accomplishments is developing the Free and Clear telephone line that helps special populations quit smoking.

  • Nancy M. Ostrove, PhD, Food and Drug Administration. Ostrove has worked at FDA for more than 20 years. She currently directs the Risk Communication Staff and leads FDA’s approaches to better understanding how to communicate health and risk information more effectively by tying design and dissemination to psychological knowledge. She was instrumental in developing FDA’s Strategic Plan for Risk Communication, which shapes FDA’s messages to the public.

  • Philip E. Rubin, PhD, Haskins Laboratory. Rubin served as director of the Division of Behavioral and Cognitive Sciences at NSF from 2000 to 2003, where he set up several cross-disciplinary programs such as the Children’s Research Initiative and Human Origins Program. As CEO and senior scientist at Haskins Laboratory, Rubin has embodied interdisciplinary collaboration, working with computer scientists, engineers, linguists and physiologists to better understand how our minds and brains process language.

—M. Price