Several individuals and groups were honored during the 2011 State Leadership Conference:

  • Sarah Bowen, executive director of the Wisconsin Psychological Association, won the State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs Outstanding Staff Member award from APA’s Div. 31 (State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs) for her efforts to promote psychology through multifaceted advocacy and organizational effectiveness.
  • Patricia Farrell, PhD, won the APAPO Outstanding Federal Advocacy Coordinator Award for excellence in advancing the profession of psychology through federal advocacy in Illinois.
  • Jennifer F. Kelly, PhD, of Atlanta, won the APA Committee of State Leaders State Leadership Award for her exceptional service to the profession of psychology as a legislative and health-care advocate, mentor, professional officer and practitioner.
  • The Illinois Psychological Association won the APA Div. 31 State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Association Diversity Award for advancing and sustaining diversity for its members and leadership.
  • The Iowa Psychological Association won the American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) Award for Outstanding State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association of the Year for superior performance in promoting graduate student development, involvement and joint membership in APAGS and Div. 31. This award is co-sponsored by the APA Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice and Div. 31.
  • U.S. Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), won the APA Outstanding Leadership Award for championing health-care reform that continues the work of the Wellstone/Domenici Parity Act by integrating mental health with primary care. She was also recognized for her work with the committee chairs to avert the Medicare Sustainable Growth rate cuts and extend the restoration of Medicare reimbursement that was cut from outpatient mental health services in 2007.
  • The Utah Psychological Association won the APA Div. 31 Most Outstanding State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Association Award for its successful legislative advocacy, innovative programming and advances in psychologists’ scope of practice.
  • Sen. Leland Yee, PhD (D-Calif.), won the APAPO State Legislator of the Year Award in recognition of his long-standing efforts to support the professional practice of psychology, protect the public and improve the mental health system in California.