• The MetLife Foundation honored Randy L. Buckner, PhD, with its 2010 Award for Medical Research in Alzheimer’s Disease. Buckner, a Harvard University professor of psychology and neuroscience, developed the breakthrough brain-imaging technique called event-related functional magnetic resonance imaging in the mid-1990s. The foundation praised Buckner’s research for helping to explain the precursors to Alzheimer’s earliest stages. The award includes a $200,000 research grant and a $50,000 personal prize.
  • The National Institute of Mental Health awarded University of Notre Dame psychology professor Lee Anna Clark, PhD, a $3.18 million grant to study personality disorder and to develop a more comprehensive system for diagnosing it. Clark, one of psychology’s most cited researchers, is known for developing the Schedule for Nonadaptive and Adaptive Personality, a popular assessment tool for personality disorder.
  • The National Association for Girls and Women in Sport presented Colleen M. Hacker, PhD, of Pacific Lutheran University, with its Presidential Award. Hacker is an internationally known expert on peak performance and was recognized for her work in helping girls and women succeed in sports. Hacker served as the sport psychology consultant to the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team from 1995 to 2007 and was a member of the coaching staff for the U.S. women’s field hockey team during the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing.
  • The American Association of Suicidology has elected David Lester, PhD, as its 2013 president. Lester, of The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey in Pomona, is one of the nation’s leading experts on suicide, having studied the topic for 45 years.
  • Iona College, in New Rochelle, N.Y., has named psychologist Joseph E. Nyre, PhD, as its next president. Nyre formerly served as president and CEO of The Hope Institute, a nonprofit that advances public policy, conducts research and offers health-care and educational services. Nyre will be the first lay president of the college.
  • APA President Melba J.T. Vasquez, PhD, received the Outstanding Alumna of Distinguished Achievement Award from Texas State University-San Marcos.
  • The award recognized Vasquez, APA’s first Latina president, for her distinguished professional contributions, social justice advocacy and lifetime achievement in the field of psychology.

  • The Council of University Directors of Clinical Psychology awarded Barbara Yutrzenka, PhD, the 2011 Beverly Thorn Award for Outstanding Service as a Director of Clinical Training at its Midwinter Meeting in Nashville, Tenn., in January. Yutrzenka, who directs the University of South Dakota doctoral clinical psychology program, was honored for her record of research on professional ethics; delivery of mental health services; and cross-cultural issues in supervision as well as her commitment to diversity.