Division Spotlight

Div. 2 seeks nominations for several awards

Apply for these awards, offered by Division 2 (Society for the Teaching of Psychology).

  • The SAGE Teaching Innovations and Professional Development Award offers a $1,250 travel grant for one graduate student and one untenured faculty member (within the first five years of teaching) who attend Div. 2 programming at APA's Annual Convention.
  • The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Research Grant offers $10,000 to support research on the scholarship of teaching and learning in psychology. Research projects in any phase of development are eligible for funding (e.g., materials design, data collection, manuscript writing). However, the proposed project must have a high probability of producing a product that will be presented and/or published in a peer-reviewed outlet in a timely manner.
  • Poster Awards. Div. 2 offers two annual poster awards of $250 each that recognize excellent work on the scholarship of teaching and learning in psychology. One award will be given for a poster presented at APA's Annual Convention. The other will be given for a poster at the Association for Psychological Science annual meeting.
  • The Society for the Teaching of Psychology Excellence in Teaching Psychology Adjunct Faculty Award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching psychology by individuals who teach part time.
  • The Psi Chi/STP Assessment Resource Grant offers $6,000 to support projects to develop assessment tests/instruments/processes that demonstrate student acquisition of goals 2, 4, and 5 of the APA Guidelines for the Undergraduate Psychology Major.

For more details and deadlines on each award, go to the Society for the Teaching of Psychology.

Div. 15 seeks nominations for early career award

Div. 15 (Educational) seeks nominations for the 2011 Richard E. Snow Award for Early Career Contributions. The award honors a psychologist? who has completed his or her doctoral work within the past 10 years; has made significant research contributions to the field of educational psychology; and is a member of Div. 15 at the time of consideration.

To nominate, email electronic copies of a letter describing the contributions of the nominee to the field of educational psychology; the individual's vitae; and a representative reprint of the individual's research to David F. Lohman, PhD, chair of the Richard E. Snow Award Committee. Nominations are due by Jan. 14.

Div. 17 supports clinic in APA convention host city

In what has become a meaningful and rewarding five-year tradition in the host city of APA's Annual Convention, the Community Engagement Committee of Div. 17 (Society of Counseling Psychology) provided a half-day workshop on "Compassion Fatigue: Helping the Healer Heal," to staff at Whitman-Walker Health in Washington, D.C.

Whitman-Walker Health is a comprehensive community health clinic that provides culturally competent, quality care to Washington's diverse urban community. The clinic is especially invested in providing services to individuals facing barriers to quality care, with particular expertise in LGBT and HIV services.

The August workshop included a presentation on compassion fatigue, large group discussion, small group work, debriefing and processing, and a guided meditation and relaxation exercise.

Div. 17 is planning a community engagement event for APA's 2012 Annual Convention in Orlando, Fla. For more information, contact Ruperto M. Perez, PhD.