State Leadership Conference

The following people and groups were honored at the 2012 State Leadership Conference:

Kathryn Saylor, PsyD, executive director of the New Hampshire Psychological Association, won the State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs Outstanding Staff Member award from APA's Div. 31 (State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs) for her efforts to promote psychology through multifaceted advocacy and organizational effectiveness.

Nanci Klein, PhD, of Utah, won the Outstanding Leadership Award for defending her colleagues in the practice of psychology through the CPT® coding process.

Diana Prescott, PhD, won the APAPO Outstanding Federal Advocacy Coordinator Award for excellence in advancing the profession of psychology through federal advocacy in Maine.

Michael Rosmann, PhD, of Iowa, won the APA Committee of State Leaders State Leadership Award for his exceptional service to the profession of psychology as a resolute advocate for rural mental health.

The Tennessee Psychological Association won the APA Div. 31 Diversity Award for advancing and sustaining diversity for its members and leadership.

The Alaska Psychological Association won the American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) Award for Outstanding State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association of the Year for superior performance in promoting graduate student development, involvement and joint membership in APAGS and Div. 31. This award is co-sponsored by the APA Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice and Div. 31.

U.S. Rep. Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.) won the APA Outstanding Leadership Award for his outspoken leadership on mental health issues in Congress, including cosponsoring the bill to add psychologists to the Medicare definition of physician and championing health-care reform that continues the work of the Wellstone/Domenici Parity Act by integrating mental health with primary care. He was also recognized for his work to avert the Medicare Sustainable Growth Rate cuts and extend the restoration of Medicare reimbursement that was cut from outpatient mental health services in 2007.

The Montana Psychological Association won the APA Div. 31 Most Outstanding State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association Award for its innovative programming and membership development efforts.

Sen. Mary Kay Papen (D-N.M.) won the APAPO State Legislator of the Year Award in recognition of her extraordinary advocacy on behalf of psychology in the state of New Mexico, and for her commitment to enhancing the lives of those living with mental illness.