• Kim Fromme, PhD, and Paige Harden, PhD, of The University of Texas at Austin, received a $2.3 million grant from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism to study genetic influences on drinking and other risky behaviors. The five-year grant will support a project that follows Fromme's previous prospective research on alcohol use in high school through college and beyond. The investigators, who are recruiting new PhD students to help with the project, will collect DNA from their longitudinal sample of more than 1,000 participants.

  • The University of Detroit, Mercy, has named Mary Hannah, PhD, professor emerita of psychology. Hannah, a school psychologist, came to the university as an assistant professor in 1977 and was promoted to full professor in 1992. Over the 34 years she taught at the university, she trained 400 school psychologists.

  • The Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality honored Janet Hyde, PhD, of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, with its 2012 Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award. The psychology and women's studies professor is conducting research on the emergence of gender differences in depression in adolescence, the outcomes of single-sex versus co-educational schooling, gender differences in sexuality and other topics related to the psychology of women, human sexuality and gender-role development.

  • APA Div. 48 (Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict and Violence) has awarded Boston College psychology professor M. Brinton Lykes, PhD, its Ignacio Martin-Baro Lifetime Peace Practitioner Award, given annually to a psychologist who works on human rights issues and social justice initiatives. Lykes is the associate director of the college's Center for Human Rights and International Justice, where she studies the effects of state-sponsored terror and organized violence; human rights policy and mental health interventions; participatory action research; and community-based strategies for change.

  • San Diego State University presented Vanessa Malcarne, PhD, with the 2012 Award for Outstanding Faculty Contributions to the University. A clinical psychology professor at SDSU, Malcarne has improved the lives of countless chronically ill people by helping them cope with their diagnoses and by studying the factors that influence their quality of life.

  • University of Texas at Austin Psychology Department Chair James Pennebaker, PhD, has won the university's Robert W. Hamilton Book Award for "The Secret Life of Pronouns: What Our Words Say About Us." Pennebaker's book discusses how studying the ways in which a person uses small words such as "the" and "I" can tell us about the speaker's personality and social intelligence.

  • The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust has presented Carolyn Tucker, PhD, with a $25,000 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award, which recognizes educators who have inspired one or more former students to do work that benefits the community. Tucker, a professor of psychology and the Florida Blue Endowed Chair in Health Disparities Research at the University of Florida, was nominated by former student Keith Herman, PhD, an associate professor in the College of Education at the University of Missouri. Through her teaching and mentoring, Tucker inspired Herman to open the Missouri Prevention Center, which focuses on reducing the prevalence of youth violence and depression by bringing together community members and researchers to help schools and families promote social and academic success.

  • APA Div. 8 (Society for Personality and Social Psychology) honored New York University psychology professor Tessa West, PhD, and University of Connecticut professor emeritus David A. Kenny, PhD, with its 2012 Theoretical Innovation Prize. The two scientists received the award in recognition of their 2011 Psychological Review article "The Truth and Bias Model of Judgment," which draws from multiple domains of psychology to create a single, integrative framework for the study of accuracy and bias.