State Leadership Conference

The following people and organizations were honored at the 2013 State Leadership Conference held in Washington, D.C., March 9–12.

  • Michael Butz, PhD, legislative chair of the Montana Psychological Association, was awarded the State, Provincial, and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs Outstanding Staff Member award from APA's Div. 31 (State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association Affairs) for his leadership and active involvement in advocacy efforts critical to the state of Montana and to the profession of psychology.
  • Janet Hibel, PhD, of the Florida Psychological Association was awarded the APA Practice Organization's Outstanding Federal Advocacy Coordinator Award for her exceptional skills in advocacy, grassroots mobilization and political networking.
  • Terrence Koller, PhD, of Illinois, won the APA Committee of State Leaders State Leadership Award for nearly 20 years of advocacy and leadership service to the Illinois Psychological Association and for his extensive work in Illinois public service.
  • The Kentucky Psychological Association was awarded the APA Div. 31 Diversity Award for their outstanding efforts to promote diversity in psychology in Kentucky and to raise the awareness among psychologists and other health care disciplines about cultural considerations in practice and education.
  • The Oregon Psychological Association was awarded the American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) Award for Outstanding State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association of the Year for their efforts to promote graduate student development and involvement in the state of Oregon, APAGS and Div. 31.
  • U.S. Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.) was awarded the APA Outstanding Leadership Award for his support of psychology through sponsorship of the legislation to make psychologists eligible for financial incentives for adopting health information technology in their practices.
  • The New Hampshire Psychological Association was awarded the APA Div. 31 Most Outstanding State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association Award for their two years of hard work and dedication in the face of numerous financial and legislative barriers to create an independent board of psychology in New Hampshire.
  • Speaker Tina Kotek (D-Ore.) was awarded the APAPO State Legislator of the Year Award for her long time support of mental health issues and prescriptive authority legislation for psychologists.