• The Society of Psychologists in Management has awarded Colorado School of Public Health Associate Dean Judith Albino, PhD, its 2013 Distinguished Psychologist in Management Award in recognition of her strong expertise in organizational and academic leadership. Albino, a health psychologist, is the school's associate dean for strategic planning and development and clinical professor of community and behavioral health. She also directs the Center for Native Oral Health Research.

  • The Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute has named Alfiee Breland-Noble, PhD, of Georgetown University Medical Center, to its advisory panel on addressing disparities. The panel is one of four groups that advise the work of the institute, which conducts research for Congress on how to help patients make more informed decisions about disease prevention, treatment and care.

  • APA Chief Executive Officer Norman B. Anderson, PhD, will be inducted into the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame Class of 2013 in recognition of his exceptional achievements in science and his support of Historically Black Colleges and Universities. In other news, last month Anderson gave the commencement speech at the University of North Carolina, Greensboro, his PhD alma mater. He spoke to the graduating students about the ways psychology can help support their professional endeavors and personal lives.

  • Sherry Hamby, PhD, has been appointed to the Board of Scientific Counselors for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention National Center for Injury Prevention and Control. The board is made up of surgeons, trauma physicians, epidemiologists, health economists, behavioral scientists and related professionals. Hamby is a research professor of psychology at Sewanee: the University of the South and editor of the APA journal Psychology of Violence.

  • The International Neuropsychological Society has honored four psychologists with its Lifetime Distinguished Career Award. They are: H. Julia Hannay, PhD, of the University of Houston, Harvey S. Levin, PhD, of Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Michael Corballis, PhD, of the University of Auckland in New Zealand, and Kevin Walsh, PhD, retired from the University of Melbourne in Australia. The award recognizes senior researchers who have made major, sustained contributions to the field of neuropsychology. 

  • The Southeastern Conference has named University of Alabama psychology professor John E. Lochman, PhD, as one of its outstanding teachers. Lochman specializes in clinical child psychology and directs the university's Center for Prevention of Youth Problem Behavior.

  • The California Psychological Association has given Fred Luskin, PhD, its 2013 Distinguished Contribution to Psychology Award. Luskin is a professor of clinical psychology at Sofia University (formerly the Institute of Transpersonal Psychology), director of the Stanford Forgiveness Project and author of the book "Forgive for Good." He is well known for his work in forgiveness education and therapy.

  • The Society of Behavioral Medicine has given its 2013 Distinguished Research Mentor Award for 2013 to Michael G. Perri, PhD, dean of the University of Florida College of Public Health and Health Professions. The award recognizes mentors who have had a major impact on the field of behavioral medicine. "In addition to his command of rigorous research methods, in-depth clinical intuition and experience, and strategic advice about professional challenges, [Perri] has an extraordinary ability to impart sincere optimism and respect, no matter the professional success or issue brought before him," says nominator Michaela Kiernan, PhD, of the Stanford University School of Medicine.

  • The U.S. National Committee for Psychology has elected Charles M. Super, PhD, to its 12-member committee, which is supported by the National Academy of Sciences. Super, a professor of human development and family studies at the University of Connecticut, will represent the U.S. psychology community within the International Union of Psychological Science.