• Gayle Beck, PhD, of the University of Memphis has been named editor-in-chief of Clinical Psychology: Science and Practice. Beck is immediate past president of APA Div. 12 (Society of Clinical Psychology).
  • The European Union awarded Cuban psychologist Guillermo Farinas, PhD, the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, which recognizes people who have dedicated their lives to defending human rights. Farinas has conducted more than 20 hunger strikes to protest the Cuban regime, with the aim of achieving peaceful political change, freedom of speech and freedom of expression in his country. He collected the prize in July, almost three years after he was named the winner but barred by Cuban authorities from traveling to Strasbourg, France, to collect it.
  • Kristofer Hagglund, PhD, has been named dean of the University of Missouri School of Health Professions. Hagglund, who has been the director of the Master of Public Health Program and associate dean of the UM School of Health Professions since 2001, took office July 1.
  • Theopia Jackson, PhD, received the 2013 "Courage and Hope Award" from CoachArt, a Los Angeles-based nonprofit organization that offers sports and arts lessons to chronically ill children and their siblings. Jackson received the award for her work to expand CoachArt to the San Francisco Bay Area. Jackson is a clinical psychologist, the general assembly chair for the Association of Black Psychologists, and on the faculty at Saybrook University.
  • The Disabled American Veterans Department of South Dakota has named Hilary Kindsfater, PhD, its Psychology Doctor of the Year. Kindsfater works at the PTSD outpatient program at the Fort Meade VA Medical Center, part of the VA Black Hills Health Care System. In addition to working with PTSD patients, she serves as the training director for the pre-doctoral psychology internship program there.
  • The American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association presented Irene W. Leigh, PhD, with its highest honor, the 2013 Boyce R. Williams Award, in recognition of her contributions to improving the rehabilitation of people who are deaf. Leigh, professor emerita of psychology at Gallaudet University, who chaired its psychology department from 2008 to 2012, is a former chair of APA's Committee on Disability Issues in Psychology.
  • Columbia University awarded Valerie Purdie-Vaughns, PhD, its Research Initiative in Science and Engineering award in May. The assistant professor of psychology at Columbia University studies how having a threatened identity — such as being a woman in the sciences or an aging worker in a technology firm — can affect intergroup relations. The award provides seed funding to initiate a project or test a novel idea.
  • Sheree Toth, PhD, has received the Outstanding Research Career Achievement Award from the American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children. Toth is a psychology professor at the University of Rochester and executive director of the university's Mt. Hope Family Center, which conducts research on childhood trauma, maternal depression and attachment disorders, and provides evidence-based services to at-risk families.