APA President Donald N. Bersoff, PhD, JD, announced the members of the Implementation Work Group (IWG) in September. The group will recommend to the council how to put the Good Governance motions into practice.

The group will also formulate recommendations on how to proceed with a motion council did not have time to fully discuss: one that presented several models related to restructuring the council itself. The council did vote to make significant changes to its structure, but was unable to reach a conclusion within the allotted time on which model would be best.

As a result, the council directed the Implementation Work Group to study and make recommendations on two possible restructuring models. One would reduce the council's size by having one seat per state or division while also creating opportunities for input for other perspectives and members who are not currently represented. A second proposed model would combine the original concept with one focusing on a "pillars" model based on the APA mission: science, education, practice, human welfare and health. The Implementation Work Group will create detailed versions of both models for the council's further consideration.

The members of the Implementation Work Group are: Chair: Melba J.T. Vasquez, PhD; Vice chair: Bill Strickland, PhD; Mark Appelbaum, PhD; Martha Banks, PhD; Armand Cerbone, PhD; Ayse Ciftci, PhD; Helen Coons, PhD; Paul Craig, PhD; John Hagen, PhD; Jo Johnson, PhD; Linda Knauss, PhD; Bonnie Markham, PhD, PsyD; Ali Mattu, PhD; Marsha McCary, PhD; Gilbert Newman, PhD; Allen Omoto, PhD; Vivian Oto Wang, PhD; Mitch Prinstein, PhD; Nancy Sidun, PsyD; Kristi Van Sickle, PsyD; Emily Voelkel, MA; and Milo Wilson, PhD.