• Purdue University's College of Health and Human Sciences has presented Donald Lynam, PhD, with a Research Achievement Award for his work on psychopathology and deviance. Lynam is a professor in the department of psychological sciences and directs Purdue's Developmental Psychopathology, Psychopathy and Personality Lab.
  • The American Board of Disability Analysts granted Ann Leonard-Zabel, EdD, emeritus status for her contributions toward understanding the etiology, diagnosis and rehabilitation of disabling conditions. She was also sworn in to serve on the Board of Directors for the Learning Disabilities Worldwide Congress in June. The private practitioner and professor of psychology at Curry College in Massachusetts specializes in evaluations for neurobehavioral learning disabilities, behavioral disorders, court-involved issues and substance abuse.
  • Frederick G. Lopez, PhD, has won the 2013 University of Houston College of Education Distinguished Career Award for his work in counseling psychology. Lopez, an APA fellow, is a professor in the school's counseling psychology program, where he studies how family and other close relationships contribute to psychological adjustment and personality in teens and young adults.
  • Yale President Peter Salovey, PhD, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine, one of the most prestigious bodies in health and medicine. Salovey's research has focused on how effective communication and promotional techniques can persuade people to change risky behaviors relevant to cancer and HIV/AIDS.
  • Diversity MBA Magazine named Manika Turnbull, PhD, and James E. Taylor, PhD, two of its "Top 100 Under 50 Diverse Executive Leaders of 2013." Turnbull is chief of staff at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois and an adjunct faculty member in the Chicago School of Professional Psychology's business psychology department. Taylor is vice president and chief diversity officer at Carolinas HealthCare System.
  • Div. 45 (Society for the Psychological Study of Culture, Ethnicity and Race) Issues has awarded former APA President Melba J.T. Vasquez, PhD, the Asuncion Miteria Austria and John Robinson Distinguished Mentoring Award, which recognizes distinguished contributions to APA governance and outstanding mentoring of ethnic-minority psychologists into governance roles.
  • Salem State University has recognized Marcia Weinstein, PhD, with its Distinguished Service Award. Weinstein, a psychology professor at the University for 35 years, teaches child and adolescent psychology and developmental psychology.
  • Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis has presented Jane R. Williams, PhD, with the Glenn W. Irwin Jr., MD, Experience Excellence Award. The award recognizes Williams's service to the school above and beyond teaching, such as by serving as interim chair of the psychology department and assisting with the strategic planning process for the School of Science.

Five psychologists win $25,000 for inspiring students

Half of this year's Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust awards were given to psychologists in 2013. The annual $25,000 awards recognize professors who inspire a former student to make a difference in his or her community. 

The trust was established in 2008 under the will of Gail McKnight Beckman in honor of her mother, Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman, PhD, one of the first female psychology professors at Columbia University who later taught at the University of Pennsylvania.

This year's psychologist winners are: Florence Denmark, PhD, of Pace University; Suzanne Bennett Johnson, PhD, of Florida State University; Velma McBride Murry, PhD, of Vanderbilt University Peabody College; David L. Penn, PhD, of the University of North Carolina; and Joseph E. Trimble, PhD, of Western Washington University.

The trust is supported by the Wells Fargo Philanthropic Services group.