Candidates for APA President

APA members have nominated five psychologists to run for the association's presidency. The winning candidate will serve as 2015 president-elect, 2016 president and 2017 past-president.

The presidential candidates and the number of nominating votes they received are:

  • Antonio E. Puente, PhD: 658 votes
  • Susan H. McDaniel, PhD: 522 votes
  • Jessica Henderson Daniel, PhD: 169 votes
  • Kurt F. Geisinger, PhD: 165 votes
  • Todd E. Finnerty, PsyD: 104 votes

The nomination election was conducted completely online and began Jan. 31. Members with an email address on file were sent an announcement. Other announcements were made on APA's website and in the APA Access e-newsletter. The nominations closed March 17. The ballots were tabulated by Intelliscan Inc. and certified by APA's Election Committee. All APA members are eligible to be nominated for president-elect and invited to submit a statement.

This issue of the Monitor contains the candidates' biographies and candidate statements. In the June, July/August and September issues of the Monitor, the candidates will also answer questions on issues of concern to APA members.

APA will email ballots to members on Sept. 15. Paper ballots will be sent to members who do not have an email address on file. Members who receive paper ballots by mail will have the option to vote online or by mail. The election closes Oct. 29.

Candidates' videos, biographies and candidate statements

Candidate’s statements reflect their own views and do not represent the positions of APA or APAPO.