In October, Armand Cerbone, PhD, a clinical psychologist in Chicago, was one of 11 members of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community inducted into the Chicago Gay and Lesbian Hall of Fame. According to the selection committee, Cerbone was chosen "for leadership in developing international guidelines for psychotherapy with lesbian, gay and bisexual clients and for years of volunteer service to community organizations."

In February, Loyola University Chicago selected psychologist Isiaah Crawford, PhD, as the new dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Crawford joined the university as an assistant professor in 1987 and has been interim dean since January 2003.

APA Past-president Pat DeLeon, PhD, JD, chief of staff in the office of Sen. Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii), was awarded the California Psychological Association's (CPA) Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors exemplary contributions to psychology. DeLeon was chosen, says CPA President Sallie E. Hildebrandt, PhD, for such contributions as his work on the formation of the Department of Defense Psychopharmacology Demonstration Project and helping map out CPA's future.

She adds, "When Dr. DeLeon speaks, it can be a life-changing experience. He is charismatic and makes psychologists believe in what is possible, not just what is." The association presented the award at a keynote luncheon during its annual meeting in San Diego in March.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) will present awards to three psychologists at its annual meeting this month:

  • Brenda Milner, ScD, the Dorothy J. Killam Professor at the Montreal Neurological Institute and a professor of neurology and neurosurgery at McGill University, will receive the NAS Award in the Neurosciences, a $25,000 award given every three years for extraordinary contributions to the field of neuroscience. According to the academy, she was chosen "for her pioneering and seminal investigations of the functioning of the temporal lobes and other brain regions in learning, memory and speech."

  • Robert L. Goldstone, PhD, professor of psychology at Indiana University Bloomington, and Wendy A. Suzuki, PhD, associate professor at the Center for Neural Science of New York University, each will receive a Troland Research Award, a $50,000 award to support experimental psychology. The academy selected Goldstone for experiments on how perceptual learning affects human cognition. NAS selected Suzuki for her research on the anatomy and function of the brain structures that handle memory.

Being ribbed on "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno" isn't everyone's cup of tea, but Stanley Sue, PhD, professor of psychology, psychiatry and Asian American studies at the University of California, Davis, isn't too upset that it happened to him on Jan. 27. During a segment, Leno held up a picture of Sue, pointing out that he'd won the Stanley Sue Award--recently created by APA's Div. 12 (Society of Clinical Psychology).

Sue says, "I went from feeling honored and grateful to the Society of Clinical Psychology for the award to feeling a great loss of face! Seriously, I found the whole thing hilarious. The general public doesn't know that I knew neither about the establishment of the award nor my being considered as the first recipient."

Brian Wilcox, PhD, director of the Center on Children, Families and the Law and professor of psychology at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, has also hit the big time. Comedian Al Franken cites Wilcox's research analyses of abstinence-only education in his best-selling book "Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair and Balanced Look at the Right" (E.P. Dutton, 2003). Wilcox says he is thrilled by his mention, and points out that this citation of his "has been read by more people I know than any other."