In Brief

APA has named Florence Denmark, PhD, as this year's recipient of the Raymond D. Fowler Award, an annual prize that recognizes an APA member's outstanding contributions to the association.

"It is important to note that Florence has always believed in serving APA, not for personal glory, but to give back in terms of time and commitment for all that she has gained through her APA membership," says Rosemary Blieszner, PhD, chair of the APA Committee on Aging.

Denmark has been active in APA leadership for more than 30 years. She served as president of APA and Divs. 1 (Society for General Psychology), 35 (Society for the Psychology of Women) and 52 (International Psychology).

Denmark also served on APA's Board of Directors and its Council of Representatives. Additionally, she chaired APA's Policy and Planning Board and is APA's main representative to the United Nations.

Denmark earned her PhD from the University of Pennsylvania in social psychology. She is currently the Robert Scott Pace Distinguished Research Professor of Psychology at Pace University in New York. She is perhaps best known for her research on women's leadership and leadership styles and the interplay between status and gender, and for investigating aging women from a cross-cultural perspective.

The award was established in 2003 to recognize Fowler, a former president of APA who also served as the association's CEO from 1989 to 2002.

-D. Schwartz