Time Capsule

1904 On Dec. 29, APA members elected as their president Mary Whiton Calkins of Wellesley College, making APA the first American scientific society to elect a woman president.

1928 On Dec. 1, The Conference of Editors and Business Managers of Anthropological and Psychological Journals adopted the first form of the APA Publication Manual. The authors wrote that "a badly prepared manuscript almost always suggests uncritical research and slovenly thinking."

1964 Sweden honored Ivan Pavlov on Dec. 10 by issuing a postage stamp with his portrait.

1983 On Dec. 10, the Joint Commission for the Accreditation of Hospitals approved new guidelines permitting licensed individual psychology practitioners to become members of the medical staffs of hospitals without restriction.

1989 The groundbreaking ceremony was held on Dec. 2 for APA's current headquarters building, at 750 First St., N.E., in Washington, D.C. Twelve past presidents, two former chief executive officers, the current chief executive officer and the 1989 board of directors were present.

Source: APA Historical Database, created and maintained by Warren R. Street, Central Washington University, and published as "A Chronology of Noteworthy Events in American Psychology" (APA, 1994).