Faye Calhoun, PhD, has been named deputy director of the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA), one of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Calhoun will promote research collaborations and educational activities across NIH and with other federal agencies. She joined NIAAA in 1995 as associate director for the Office of Collaborative Research, where she was responsible for such projects as National Alcohol Screening Day and the Interagency Coordinating Committee on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome.

Ten psychologists have received grants from the National Institute on Drug Abuse. The grants will be used to develop new ways to train community-based therapists, study the relationship between chronic stress and the brain mechanisms that affect drug use, and investigate the impact of childhood mental illness on later drug use.

  • Kenneth A. Dodge, PhD, William McDougell Professor of Public Policy Studies and professor of psychology at Duke University, will receive $2.4 million over five years for "Development and prevention of substance abuse problems."

  • Paul E. Gold, PhD, professor of psychology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, will receive $1.18 million over four years for "Stress effects on the balance between memory systems."

  • Colleen Halliday-Boykins, PhD, assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at the Medical University of South Carolina, will receive $146,000 over two years for "Substance outcomes for youth in psychiatric crisis."

  • Howard A. Liddle, EdD, professor of epidemiology and public health at the University of Miami, will receive $1.5 million over four years for "Training clinicians in empirically based family therapy."

  • Naomi R. Marmorstein, PhD, assistant professor of psychology at Rutgers University, will receive $77,750 over two years for "Child psychopathology and risk for drug abuse disorders."

  • Steve Martino, PhD, associate professor of psychiatry at Yale University, will receive $684,000 over three years for "Training strategies for motivational interviewing."

  • Leslie Matuszewich, PhD, assistant professor of clinical psychology at Northern Illinois University, will receive $144,000 over two years for "Impact of stress on cocaine withdrawal behaviors."

  • Robert Miranda Jr., PhD, postdoctoral researcher in community health at Brown University, will receive $465,500 over three years for "Mechanisms relating conduct disorder and drug abuse."

  • Nancy M. Petry, PhD, associate professor of psychiatry at the University of Connecticut, Storrs, will receive $1.8 million over five years for "Training therapists to administer contingency management."

  • Diane E. Sholomskas, PhD, assistant clinical professor of psychiatry at Yale University and a principal investigator at Applied Behavioral Research in New Haven, Conn., will receive $774,000 over three years for "Randomized trial of novel approaches to cognitive-behavioral therapy training."

Susan Duncan, PhD, a research scientist at the Oregon Research Institute, has received a $2.4 million grant from the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism to investigate why young people begin to drink alcohol and what social factors influence how much they drink. The five-year study will look at social influences on alcohol and other drug use among adolescents in Portland, Ore.

In September, APA President Robert J. Sternberg, PhD, presented three commendations to APA members.

  • Albert Ellis, PhD, was recognized for numerous contributions to psychology, including his creation of rational-emotive behavior therapy and hundreds of published books and articles.

  • Michael Martinez, PhD, associate professor of education at the University of California, Irvine, was selected for his scholarly contributions to education, assessment and intelligence theory.

  • Robert Solso, PhD, professor of psychology at the University of Nevada, Reno, received a commendation that applauded him for his "wide-ranging research in the field of cognitive psychology, including visual perception, psychology and the arts, evolutionary psychology, and the future of psychology."

Steven J. Helfand, PsyD, deputy director of mental health at Rikers Island jails in New York City, has been elected chair-elect of the Academy of Correctional Health Professionals Board of Directors. The academy is the leading membership organization of health professionals working in jails and prisons, affiliated with the National Commission on Correctional Healthcare. Helfand is the only mental health professional on the 13-member board.

The Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program for Women has selected two psychologists as fellows for 2003-2004. Nadine J. Kaslow, PhD, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at the Emory University Medical School, and Carolyn Mazure, PhD, professor of psychiatry and associate dean for faculty affairs at the Yale University School of Medicine, will participate in the fellowship's coaching, networking and mentoring opportunities. ELAM--a program of the Institute for Women's Health and Leadership at the Drexel University College of Medicine--aims to expand the national pool of qualified female candidates for leadership in academic medicine and dentistry.

Craig Ramey, PhD, distinguished professor in health studies at Georgetown University, was one of 15 scientists honored in September by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. Ramey participated in a ceremony on the campus of the National Institutes of Health, and his photo will hang in the institute's Hall of Honor. Ramey was chosen for his research on environmental enrichment as an early intervention in the lives of children at high risk for developmental and intellectual disabilities.

The trustees of Amherst College have appointed Lisa A. Raskin, PhD, dean of the faculty, to the newly created John William Ward Professorship. The professorship was created to recognize an Amherst faculty member whose scholarship and teaching ability accompany service to the college as an administrator.