American Psychological Foundation

APF Campaign total reaches $5.8 million

The American Psychological Foundation's (APF) Campaign for a New Era has reached $5.8 of its $7 million goal set by the APF trustees. APF has received approximately $320,000 since APA's 2002 Annual Convention in Chicago in August.

The foundation would like to recognize the following recent major donors, who made their commitments since August 2002 and prior to the deadline for this issue of the Monitor.

Meet the donors

New Era Gold Society ($50,000 and above)

  • Joseph D. Matarazzo, PhD, and Ruth G. Matarazzo, PhD, have pledged an additional $20,000 to the $30,000 in contributions they have made to the foundation since 2000. Joseph Matarazzo is a professor of behavioral neuroscience at the Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine, and a past-president of APF and APA. Ruth Matarazzo has been on the faculty of the Oregon Health Sciences University School of Medicine since 1957, is a former president of the Oregon Psychological Association and has served on APA's Council of Representatives, Committee on Accreditation, Policy and Planning Board, Board of Educational Affairs and Membership Committee. After a $43,000 contribution in 1997, the APF trustees named one of the Foundation's graduate scholarships in honor of the Matarazzos.

  • Raymond A. Weiss, PhD, EdD, and Rosalee G. Weiss, PhD, have contributed $50,000 to launch the Rosalee G. and Raymond A. Weiss Research and Program Innovation Fund, which will be augmented with a major bequest from the Weisses that will ensure substantive grants for generations to come. World War II veteran Raymond Weiss retired from teaching and research at New York University in 1981 and opened a private practice with his wife, Rosalee, in 1984. Prior to working in private practice, Rosalee Weiss was honored for her service in the FBI's Office of Censorship during World War II and worked as a senior clinical research psychologist for the state of New Jersey.

New Era Silver Society ($25,000 and above)

  • Leonard Eron, PhD, and Madeline Eron have contributed $8,000 to APF since the campaign began and recently pledged an additional $17,000.

Leonard Eron held posts at Yale University and the University of Iowa before retiring in 1990 as emeritus research professor of the social sciences in psychology at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He has earned numerous life achievement awards, including APA's Award for Distinguished Professional Contributions to Knowledge.

New Era Bronze Society ($10,000 and above)

  • Henry P. David, PhD, and Tema David have pledged $10,000, which will augment the Henry P. David Travel Award Fund, which was established with a $50,000 gift to enable young psychologists to participate in international congresses. Henry David is the founder and director of the Transnational Family Research Institute in Bethesda, Md., and has devoted his career to studying reproductive health and public policy worldwide. He is a member of the foundation's campaign leadership cabinet.

  • Donald K. Freedheim, PhD, has contributed $1,000 to APF since the campaign began and recently pledged an additional $10,000 to be used for the Div. 29 (Psychotherapy) Early Career Award. Freedheim is an emeritus professor of psychology at Case Western Reserve University and co-directs the Schubert Center for Child Development. He has served on APA's Council of Representatives, Board of Directors and Board of Professional Affairs.

  • Meredith Crawford, PhD, who passed away in May 2002, bequeathed $10,000 to APF. His bequest will be used to support the APF Henry H├ęcaen and Manfred Meier scholarships, which fund the research of talented young neuropsychologists. Highlights of his prominent career include serving as dean of academics at Vanderbilt University, founding director and president of the Human Resources Research Organization, APA treasurer and APF president.

  • Donald K. Routh, PhD, and Marion Routh have contributed $3,700 to APF since the campaign began and recently gave an additional $7,000 to supplement the Lizette Peterson-Homer Memorial Injury Research Fund.

Donald K. Routh is a professor of psychology at the University of Miami, and has served as president of APA's Divs. 12 (Society of Clinical Psychology) and 16 (School). He is the founding director of the International Society of Child Psychology.

In 1998, the Rouths established the Rebecca Routh Coon Injury Research Fund, which supports psychosocial research on preventing childhood and adolescent injuries, to honor the memory of their daughter. The fund was recently renamed to honor the memory of Lizette Peterson-Homer, PhD, who passed away in 2002.


Donors of $10,000 or more will be featured on the Campaign for a New Era donor wall, which is to be installed in the lobby of APA headquarters in 2004.