Vanderbilt University has awarded the Earl Sutherland Prize for Achievement in Research to Leonard Bickman, PhD, who is a professor of psychology, psychiatry and public policy at Vanderbilt as well as director of the university's Center for Mental Health Policy. The prize--$5,000 and an engraved pewter cup--is given annually to a member of the faculty whose scholarly research has influenced the researcher's discipline at a national level. Bickman was selected for his wide-ranging work in the delivery of mental health care to children and families.

A psychology student and postdoc are among the 2003-2004 fellows selected by the American Psychoanalytic Association (APsaA): Michael Groat, PhD, a postdoctoral fellow at the University at Albany of the State University of New York, and Meg Jay, graduate student in psychology and women's studies at the University of California, Berkeley. APsaA fellows are early-career scholars and practitioners in a variety of fields who are matched with mentors to help them expand their knowledge of psychoanalysis.

Russell Jones, PhD, professor of psychology at Virginia Tech, has been selected to head a subcommittee at the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Because of his work on helping children and their families deal with disasters and traumatic stress, Jones was appointed to a one-year term as chair of the Science and Program Review Subcommittee (SPRS) of the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control. As chair of SPRS, Jones will oversee the work of the subcommittee, reviewing proposals on topics such as rehabilitation, injury prevention and sexual violence.

The U.S. Department of Education has awarded a three-year, $750,000 grant to psychologists at Carnegie Mellon University. David Klahr, PhD, professor of psychology, and Junlei Li, PhD, postdoctoral fellow in psychology, are co-principal investigators on the project to improve science education in middle schools. They will use the grant to train teachers in four Pittsburgh schools to apply cognitive theories of scientific reasoning in their lessons, which the researchers hope will raise performance on standardized tests.

Former APA Congressional Fellow Richard McKeon, PhD, will work with the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) in the area of suicide prevention. He will work on a number of projects for SAMHSA--part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services--including the establishment of a public and private partnership to implement the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention, one of the major goals of President Bush's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health.

In October, Theodore Millon, PhD, dean and scientific director of the Institute for Advanced Studies in Personology and Psychopathology in Coral Gables, Fla., received a commendation from APA Past-president Robert J. Sternberg, PhD, for lifetime achievements in psychopathology and personality disorders. Sternberg applauded Millon for several accomplishments, including his book "Modern Psychopathology" (Waveland Press, 1983), his development of many personality assessments still in use and his founding of the International Society for the Study of Personality Disorders.

The Gerontological Society of America has given its 2003 Award for the Distinguished Career Contribution to Gerontology to John R. Nesselroade, PhD, professor of quantitative psychology at the University of Virginia. The award was presented to Nesselroade at the society's annual meeting in November for his work in life span development and how researchers can measure and predict behavior variability within individuals.

Jeffrey D. Schall, PhD, professor of psychology and director of the Center for Integrative & Cognitive Neuroscience at Vanderbilt University, has been named holder of a new endowed university chair, the E. Bronson Ingram Chair of Neuroscience. Schall will continue to pursue his work in the field of cognition, vision and attention.

Shelley E. Taylor, PhD, professor of psychology at the University of California, Los Angeles, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM). The only psychologist in a group of 65 new members, Taylor will serve on various IOM committees, which engage in a broad range of studies on health policy and advise the government on health issues.

To celebrate the retirement of APA Past-president Philip G. Zimbardo, PhD, from Stanford University's psychology department, a former doctoral student, Scott Plous, PhD, created a Web site,, to house messages of congratulations, thanks and good wishes. More than 700 current and former students, friends, family, colleagues and high school teachers left short messages for Zimbardo on the site, now closed to new messages, describing the impact he and his work have had on their lives.