The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has chosen Lawrence W. Barsalou, PhD, of Emory University as a Fellow for his work on the human conceptual system. The foundation appoints fellows based on their unusually impressive achievements and exceptional promise for future accomplishment.

Hilda Borko, PhD, an educational psychologist at the University of Colorado, Boulder, has been elected president of the American Educational Research Association (AERA). She will assume her new role at the end of AERA's 2003 annual meeting in Chicago, succeeding Robert L. Linn, PhD.

Professor and director of the applied gerontology program at the University of Alabama, Lou Burgio, PhD, has been appointed to the national advisory council of the National Institute of Nursing Research, a part of the National Institutes of Health. The first psychologist ever appointed to the council, Burgio will recommend to the institute director which research applications should be approved and considered for funding.

The Board of Trustees of the Massachusetts School of Professional Psychology (MSPP) has selected Nicholas Covino, PhD, as its next president. A member of the MSPP Board of Directors and the Massachusetts Psychological Association, Covino is also president of the Society for Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis.

California State University, Los Angeles, assistant professor Ramani Durvasula, PhD, has been named the 2002 Emerging Scholar for her excellence in teaching, research and potentially significant contributions to psychology. The American Association of University Women presents this national award to recognize the early professional achievement of an untenured woman scholar who has a record of exceptional accomplishments and shows promise of future distinction.

Col. Larry C. James, PhD, was awarded the Army Commendation Medal by General Harold Timboe, commander of Walter Reed Army Medical Center. James was honored for duties he performed during the disaster response to the Sept. 11 attack at the Pentagon. James was the chief psychologist at the Pentagon and was responsible for coordinating psychological services.

High school student Adam Malin conducted a study to research the impact of Sept. 11 on the emotional and political views of his peers at Syosset High School in New York. Malin plans to present his research at a variety of local and national fairs.

In May, Ronald F. Levant, EdD, APA's recording secretary and dean and professor of the Center for Psychological Studies at Nova Southeastern University, received the Massachusetts Psychological Association's (MPA) highest award, its Career Contribution Award.

Levant, who in 1995 received MPA's Ezra Saul Psychological Service Award, is past-president of MPA as well as former president of Div. 43 (Family). His work over the years with APA includes memberships and chairmanships of various APA committees as well as its Board of Directors.

APA student affiliate Julio I. Rojas, a graduate student in counseling psychology at the University of Georgia, is one of seven 2002 winners of the annual K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award from the American Association for Higher Education (AAHE). Designed to recognize graduate students showing exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education, the award is accompanied by complimentary registration and travel expenses to AAHE's National Conference on Higher Education.

Jerome D. Schein, PhD, received the Golden Rose Award from the National Association of the Deaf for his contributions to the deaf community over the past four decades. Schein is professor emeritus at New York University, adjunct professor at University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada, an APA Fellow, and a consultant on sensory education and rehabilitation.

The MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Adolescent and Juvenile Justice, led by Temple University's Laurence Steinberg, PhD, was awarded a $5.6 million grant from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation to continue its disciplinary research. Established in 1996, the network provides research that could change policy and practice in juvenile and criminal justice systems.

Virginia Theo-Steelman, EdD, has been named "Member of the Year" of the New Hampshire Psychological Association for her many contributions and years of service to the organization. She is the current APA Council Representative from New Hampshire and a member of Divs. 17 (Counseling), 31 (State Psychological Association Affairs), 35 (Society for the Psychology of Women) and 42 (Psychologists in Independent Practice).

Beverly Daniel Tatum, PhD, has been appointed president of Spelman College in Atlanta. Tatum will replace Audrey Forbes Manley, PhD, Spelman's retiring president, in August.