Three psychologists were among 72 scientists elected to the National Academy of Sciences in April: Linda Bartoshuk, PhD, professor of surgery and psychology, Yale University School of Medicine, for her work in taste perception, Claude M. Steele, PhD, professor of psychology and Lucie Stern Professor in the Social Sciences, Stanford University, for his research on self-evaluation, stereotypes and addiction, and Brian A. Wandell, PhD, Isaac and Madeline Stein Family Professor in the department of psychology, Stanford University, for his research on human vision.

The academy was created by an act of Congress in 1863 to advise the federal government on matters relating to science or technology, and election to it is considered one of the highest honors accorded a scientist. Members of the academy serve on various boards and committees related to their expertise.