The National Science Board has given Richard C. Atkinson, PhD, president of the University of California system, the 2003 Vannevar Bush Award for lifetime contributions to the nation in science and technology. The board selected Atkinson--an experimental psychologist and mathematician--for his service as a former director of the National Science Foundation and his research contributions in the fields of memory, cognition and education. Atkinson received the award in May at a dinner at the U.S. Department of State.

Ludy Benjamin Jr., PhD, professor of psychology at Texas A&M University, has received a new award given by the university: the Presidential Professorship for Teaching Excellence. Benjamin learned of the $25,000 award via a personal visit from university president Robert Gates, who established the award earlier this year.

Laura L. Carstensen, PhD, professor of psychology at Stanford University, and Gy¨orgy Gergely, PhD, professor and department head of developmental research at the Institute for Psychological Research of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, have been selected as 2003 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellows. The foundation said it chose Carstensen for her work on extended life expectancy in the 21st century and Gergely for his work on how infants develop an understanding of other minds and intentionality.

Richard Davidson, PhD, professor of psychology and psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, has received the 2003 Distinguished Investigator Award from the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression. Davidson, who is also the director of the W.M. Keck Laboratory for Functional Brain Imaging and Behavior, will receive $100,000 toward his autism research.

At its annual meeting in April, the American Educational Research Association (AERA) presented awards to 15 researchers, including two psychologists. Robert Glaser, PhD, senior scientist at the Learning Research and Development Center at the University of Pittsburgh, received a presidential citation for service and contributions to educational research, and Xin Ma, PhD, assistant professor of educational psychology at the University of Alberta, received the AERA Committee Award for Early Career Contribution in Research.

In May, Colleen Hacker, PhD, assistant dean of the school of physical education at Pacific Lutheran University in Washington state, and Janis Sanchez, PhD, professor of psychology at Old Dominion University in Virginia, participated in the U.S. Olympic Committee's 2003 Women in Coaching Summit at the ARCO Olympic training facility, in Chula Vista, Calif. Coaches from all over the nation came to hear presentations such as Hacker's two sessions on psychological skills training for coaches and preparation for performance excellence, and Sanchez's on the effects of gender on coaching.

Leonard Jason, PhD, director of the Center for Community Research at DePaul University in Chicago, has received the 2003 Dutch ME Foundation International ME Award for outstanding work in the past 10 years in the field of chronic fatigue syndrome/myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME). The award included a prize of 5,000 Euros (about $5,900) and a specially commissioned piece of artwork. Jason also presented the Dutch ME Award Lecture in the Netherlands in April.

Johnny Matson, PhD, professor and associate chair of the department of psychology at Louisiana State University, has been named the university's Distinguished Research Master of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. The university's highest research honor, the award recognizes excellence in research and scholarship and consists of a $1,500 annual salary increase and a medal. Matson was recognized for his work in the field of developmental disabilities, especially mental retardation.

Robert J. Pellegrini, PhD, professor and chair of the psychology department at San Jose State University has been named the university's 2002-2003 Outstanding Professor, recognizing him for teaching excellence. In a press release, University President Robert Caret said, "Bob Pellegrini has had a long and distinguished career at San Jose State University. He is an outstanding teacher-scholar and citizen of the university."

Danny Wedding, PhD, professor of psychiatry at the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine and director of the Missouri Institute of Mental Health, traveled to Australia in June to help the government develop a new parliamentary fellowship program. Wedding was one of five former American Association for the Advancement of Science policy fellows selected to educate the Australian parliament on the importance of good science in governmental decision-making.

The National Latina/o Psychological Association--formerly known as the National Hispanic Psychological Association--has elected officers for 2002-2004. Officers include President Patricia Arredondo, EdD, associate professor of psychology in education at Arizona State University, Secretary Alberta M. Gloria, PhD, associate professor of counseling psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Treasurer Edward Delgado-Romero, PhD, assistant professor of counseling and educational psychology at Indiana University.