The following presidential citations were given to members by APA President Norine G. Johnson, PhD, in March:

  • Lewis Aranow, PhD, was recognized for 20 years of providing quality education to students at Stanford University and in Venezuela. In 1976, Aranow left Stanford to create a new department of pharmacology at Uniformed Services University. In 1995, he broke new ground by training 10 military psychologists to prescribe psychotropic medications. Aranow went on to serve two years on the federal panel of experts that created the Psychopharmacology Examination for Psychologists.

  • Jerry H. Clark, PhD, was officially named "Dr. California Psychology," in recognition of his more than 50 years of service to various associations dedicated to the advancement of psychology. He has served as president of the California Psychological Association twice and for many years was an important fund-raiser for several associations. Clark is serving his 12th year as a member of the APA Council of Representatives.

  • Ernest R. Hilgard, PhD, was recognized for his efforts to advance psychology as a science, a profession and in the public interest. He has made important contributions in the areas of conditioning, learning, hypnosis and the history of psychology. Hilgard is also known for his activism during the 1940s reorganization of APA and for his service to his country as a psychologist during World War II. Hilgard received the 1994 APA Lifetime Achievement Award and was recently appointed to the National Academy of Sciences.