Eight psychologists, “Distinguished Elders,” were honored during the fifth National Multicultural Conference and Summit for their lives of service to psychology and dedication to fighting injustice and for the rights of minority groups.

The 2007 Distinguished Elders were:

  • Asunción Miteria Austria, PhD

  • Vivian S. Boyd, PhD

  • J. Manuel Casas, PhD

  • Stephen F. Morin, PhD

  • Letitia Anne Peplau, PhD

  • Henry Tomes, PhD

  • Joseph E. Trimble, PhD

  • Judith Worell, PhD

Each Distinguished Elder was honored by an APA Presidential Citation.

A new award, created by the Council of National Psychological Associations for the Advancement of Ethnic Minority Interests and named for long-time APA Executive Director for Public Interest Dr. Henry Tomes was presented for the first time at an evening reception as the multicultural conference opened.

"It's entirely fitting that we announce at this conference the first-ever Tomes Award for the Advancement of Ethnic Minority Psychology," stated Alvin Alvarez, PhD, in announcing the establishment of the Tomes award. "Dr. Henry Tomes's career has been all about bringing people together."

The Tomes Award was presented to Joseph L. White, PhD, for his decades-long career as a researcher, teacher, and mentor. In presenting the award to White, Toy Caldwell Colbert, PhD, said, "The genesis of his [White's] work is in the lives he has touched and the souls he has inspired."

Other awards given at the conference were the newly established Distinguished Ancestors award given to Bertha Holliday, PhD, and the Visionary Leadership Award given to Joseph C. Ponterotto, Jr, PhD, Manuel Casas, PhD, Lisa A. Suzuki, PhD, and Charlene M. Alexander, PhD. Keynote speakers Eduardo Duran, PhD, and Melba Vasquez, PhD, received Carolyn Atteneave Keeper of the Fire Awards and keynote speakers Rosie Phillips Bingham, PhD, and Beverly Greene, PhD, received the Dalmas A. Taylor Awards.

-R. Farberman