Cynthia Belar, PhD, APA's executive director for education, has received an award from the Council of University Directors of Clinical Psychology in appreciation of her leadership and advocacy in psychology education and advancing scientist-practitioner training in professional psychology. The award was presented at the annual meeting of the organization, which includes 164 clinical psychology doctoral programs.

APA Past-president Philip G. Zimbardo, PhD, presented three final presidential awards to psychologists in February and March. A first citation went to Gordon Bower, PhD, the A.R. Lang Professor of Psychology at Stanford University, for his work as an educator and researcher. The citation notes that his "integrative thinking and innovative studies have played a central role in the development and maturation of mathematical psychology, cognitive psychology and cognitive science."

A second citation went to Orville Gilbert Brim, PhD, director of Life Trends Inc., for his "unique and historic leadership across such a rich range of social science endeavors," especially his work on the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Research Network on Successful Midlife Development.

Lastly, Leonard L. Mitnick, PhD, formerly with the National Institute of Mental Health, received a commendation for volunteering his time and expertise to Zimbardo's presidential initiative, "Psychology Makes a Significant Difference in Our Lives."

Debra Haire-Joshu, PhD, professor of community health at Saint Louis University, has been selected for a 2003-2004 Robert Wood Johnson Health Policy fellowship. Haire-Joshu is especially interested in the policy issues associated with obesity and diabetes. The fellowships are funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and administered by the Institute of Medicine, part of the National Academies.

Two psychologists are among the 20 people recently named to the University of Michigan Depression Center's national advisory board. Richard Birkel, PhD, director of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, and Kay Redfield Jamison, PhD, professor of psychiatry at The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, joined the advisory board in March. Other members of the board include journalist Mike Wallace and Rep. Patrick J. Kennedy (D-R.I.).

Nobel Memorial Prize-winning psychologist Daniel Kahneman, PhD, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Psychology and a professor of public affairs at Princeton University, received a presidential citation in February from APA Past-president Philip G. Zimbardo, PhD, APA President Robert J. Sternberg, PhD, and APA President-elect Diane F. Halpern, PhD. The citation noted Kahneman's influence: "His work has had a foundational effect on economic theory and policy, and his contributions have served to illustrate the value and importance of psychological research and insight to other disciplines concerned with human action and judgment and on public policy discussions."

Joseph D. Matarazzo, PhD, professor of behavioral neuroscience at Oregon Health & Science University and 1989 APA president, has been named Oregon's 2003 outstanding scientist by the Oregon Academy of Sciences. The academy said it selected Matarazzo for his research on the Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale and his efforts to establish the first U.S. medical psychology department. Matarazzo received his award in February at the academy's meeting.

Paul Nelson, PhD, APA's deputy director of education and director of graduate and postgraduate education and training, has been appointed to a national advisory council for the Center on Liberal Education and Civic Engagement, newly established and co-sponsored by the Association of American Colleges and Universities and Campus Compact. The center will support and encourage leadership and scholarship on the intellectual and educational connections between civic engagement and liberal learning.

Four psychology undergraduate students were among those USA Today selected in February for its All-USA Academic Teams. The 20 students on the college-level first team received $2,500, and all 60 students were honored in the newspaper.

Michael Osofsky, a senior at Stanford University, was selected for the first team. Osofsky, who is concurrently earning a master's degree, is a student government senator and president of the Stanford Undergraduate Psychology Association. He proposed and created an alternative education program for first-time juvenile offenders in his hometown of New Orleans.

Sahar Dar, an economics, international studies and psychology major at Case Western Reserve University, was selected for the second team. Dar conducted a cost-benefit analysis comparing the U.S. health-care system with those of three other countries that was published in the American Public Health Association's newspaper.

The third team had two psychology majors, Kana Ellis, from the University of Alabama, and Kathleen Szilagyi, of Dartmouth College. Ellis created Alabama Action, which organizes community service projects for incoming honors students, and she also conducted research on aggressive female adolescents. In addition to participating in varsity athletics, Szilagyi co-authored a paper on forgiveness and morality in Bosnian adolescents, which she subsequently presented at a meeting of the Association of Moral Education.

Rena Subotnik, PhD, director of APA's Center for Psychology in Schools and Education, was recently invited to serve as president of the Washington, D.C.-based Higher Education Group (HEG). HEG brings together people involved in the study and practice of higher education to foster a better understanding of recent developments in higher education policy and practice. Subotnik will help choose the direction of issues, events and speakers for the group.