State Leadership Conference

The following awards were presented to psychology advocates at the State Leadership Conference this year:

  • APAPO State Legislator of the Year Award: Rep. Ruth Balser, PhD (D-Mass.), of the Massachusetts House of Representatives, and Sen. Liz Figueroa (D-Calif.), of the California State Senate, for championing legislation that directly benefits psychologists and consumers of psychological services.

  • APA Outstanding Leadership Award: Sen. Gordon Smith (R-Ore.), in recognition of his efforts on behalf of patients and their right to quality mental health care.

  • APAPO Federal Advocacy Coordinator Award: Stanley Moldawsky, PhD, for his leadership in advancing the profession of psychology through federal advocacy.

  • APA Presidential Citations: Susan A. Lerner, PhD, for upholding the highest standards of the profession by accurately representing the psychological status of a vulnerable chronically mentally ill client, John W. Hinckley Jr., at great personal cost, and Bernabei & Katz, Attorneys at Law, for their strong and effective advocacy in support of psychologists and many other conscientious whistleblowers.

  • APA Committee of State Leaders State Leadership Award: Linda F. Campbell, PhD, for her exceptional service to the psychological profession as a leader of the Georgia Psychological Association, her commitment to diversity within the profession and her work as a major advocate in pro moting the psychological agenda on the state and national level.

  • APA Div. 31 (State, Provincial and Territorial Psychological Association-SPTA-Affairs) Outstanding State, Provincial or Territorial Psychological Association: Kentucky Psychological Association, for providing a model for other associations to emulate in its legislative advocacy, fundraising and other areas.

  • APA Div. 31 Outstanding Executive Director of a State, Provincial or Territorial Psychological Association: Jimelle Farris Rumberg, executive director of the West Virginia Psychological Association, for her outstanding achievements.

  • APA/APAGS Award for an Outstanding State or Provincial Psychological Association of the Year: New York State Psychological Association, for superior performance in promoting graduate student development, involvement and joint APAGS/SPTA membership.