State Leadership Conference

The following honors were presented to psychology advocates at the 2007 State Leadership Conference:

  • APAPO State Legislator of the Year Award: The Honorable Jay Bradford, former democratic senator and representative, Arkansas legislature, for his extensive support of psychology over many years in addressing such issues as any willing provider, mental health parity, licensure mobility and the practice of neuropsychology.

  • APA Outstanding Leadership Award: The Honorable Frank Pallone Jr. (D-N.J.), in recognition of his efforts on behalf of patients and their right to quality mental health care.

  • APAPO Federal Advocacy Coordinator Award: Chris K. Wehl, PhD, of Utah, for his leadership in advancing the profession of psychology through federal advocacy.

  • Special Recognition: Chris Stout, PsyD, MBA, of Illinois; Peter Oppenheimer, PhD, of Rhode Island; and Hollis Hackman, PhD, of Wyoming; for outstanding grassroots advocacy to defeat the Health Insurance Marketplace Modernization and Affordability Act.

  • APA Committee of State Leaders State Leadership Award: Dorothy Cantor, PsyD, for her exceptional service to the profession of psychology as a leader of the New Jersey Psychological Association, as well as APA and the American Psychological Foundation.

  • APA Div. 31 (State, Provincial and TerritorialPsychological Association--SPTA-- Affairs) Most Outstanding Executive Director award: Sandra Fisher, Oregon Psychological Association, for providing leadership that inspires dedication and service.

  • Div. 31 Most Outstanding SPTA award: California Psychological Association, for major accomplishments in legislative advocacy, early-career psychologists programming and recruitment, diversity, social justice, membership development and community action, and other areas.

  • American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS) Award for an Outstanding State or Provincial Psychological Association of the Year: California Psychological Association, for superior performance in promoting graduate student development, involvement and joint APAGS/SPTA membership. This award is co-sponsored by the APA Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice and APA Div. 31.

Also at the 2007 SLC, APA President Sharon Stephens Brehm, PhD, presented presidential citations to:

  • Bud Courson, a partner at CoursonNickel, for his achievements in advocacy for psychology, including efforts toward passage of Louisiana's prescriptive authority legislation "in a manner never before seen in the Louisiana legislature."

  • James Nickel, a partner at CoursonNickel, for his dedication and loyalty to advocacy for psychology, particularly on behalf of the Louisiana Psychological Association toward passage of Louisiana's prescriptive authority legislation.

  • Terry L. Cline, PhD, for his recent appointment as administrator for the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration and in appreciation for his 20 years of exemplary public service and leadership in the mental health and substance abuse fields.