In Brief

This year's recipient of the Award for Outstanding Lifetime Contribution to Psychology had no idea he had even been nominated--which is particularly surprising because the recipient is none other than APA's Chief Executive Officer Raymond D. Fowler, PhD. The award was bestowed on Fowler, who has been APA's CEO since 1989, by former APA Presidents Martin E.P. Seligman, PhD, Richard M. Suinn, PhD, and President-elect Norine G. Johnson. In their citation, the three recognized Fowler as:

  • Mr. Stability, for a "decade of wise and prudent leadership" that has helped to make APA the largest scientific organization in the United States.

  • Mr. Harmony, for fostering an atmosphere in which "science and practice work harmoniously together as interdependent neighbors, and while not always in agreement, see themselves as soldiers on the same sided of the barricade."

  • Mr. MMPI, for developing a computer interpretation of the MMPI. You have always stood high for justice and diversity here at APA, in your science and in your many international endeavors.

  • Mr. Vision, for the "stability and harmony you have brought about and the fires you put out daily [that] have been in the service of a clear vision of the future."

In all, said the three presidents, Raymond D. Fowler is "Mr. APA."