Cover Story

At the opening and closing sessions of APA's 2004 Annual Convention in Honolulu, APA President Diane F. Halpern, PhD, presented presidential citations acknowledging the influential work of several organizations and individuals:

  • Kenneth B. Clark, PhD, and Mamie Phipps Clark, PhD, for, among other accomplishments, their groundbreaking doll studies that showed the deleterious effects of segregation and were cited by the U.S. Supreme Court in its Brown v. Board of Education decision (see the cover package in the September Monitor).

for what Halpern termed an "heroic act of independence" in exposing the prisoner abuse in Iraq's Abu Ghraib prison. "This citation extends to all the other heroes who are willing to risk challenging powerful systems," Halpern added.

  • Sen. Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii), for his longstanding support of the field of psychology and the health of all Americans. The citation described him as "passionately committed to those excluded from their basic rights to comprehensive health care, including mental health benefits."

  • Col. Larry C. James, PhD, former chief of the psychology department at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington, D.C., for his exemplary balance of professional psychology and military leadership. In addition to his development of innovative health psychology programs, Halpern noted that James recently volunteered for Operation Iraqi Freedom.

  • National Latina/o Psychological Association, in recognition of its 25th anniversary and for giving a voice to Latino and Latina perspectives in psychology. Its president, Patricia Arredondo, PhD, accepted the citation.

  • Psi Chi, the national psychology honor society, in recognition of its 75th anniversary. Halpern praised its efforts to foster student achievement and leadership and presented the citation to Psi Chi president Martha S. Zlokovich, PhD.

  • Business of Practice Network, in recognition of creating the Psychologically Healthy Workplace Award program, which is sponsored by state, provincial and territorial psychological associations and recognizes companies that promote a psychologically healthy work environment for employees.

  • Fanny M. Cheung, PhD, a pioneer in gender research and women's studies, for her cross-cultural research in the study of women's issues and promoting psychology in Asia.

  • Jana N. Martin, PhD, for combining traditional practice, advocacy, public education, leadership and community involvement through her service with county and state psychological associations and in private practice.

  • Wilbert J. McKeachie, PhD, a former APA president, for his contributions to the teaching of psychology, understanding of individual differences and human learning and his governance in APA and other psychological and higher education organizations.

  • D.C. Sadow, PhD, for her nearly 30 years of providing psychological services to veterans and her devotion to serving those with severe and persisting mental disorders.

  • Michael Wessells, PhD, for his contributions to the development of peace psychology, including his roles as founder and president of Div. 48 (Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict and Violence), co-chair of the Joint APA¬≠Canadian Psychological Association presidential initiative on ethnopolitical warfare, and president of Psychologists for Social Responsibility.