Psychologist Nancy Cantor, PhD, became chancellor of Syracuse University in August. Most recently the chancellor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Cantor is the first woman to hold the chancellorship at Syracuse. A recipient of one of APA's Distinguished Scientific Awards for Early Career Contributions to Psychology in 1985, she is also a former chair of the psychology department at Princeton University and former graduate school dean, provost and executive vice-president at the University of Michigan.

Allyson Cherkasky, PhD, formerly a staff psychologist at the Women's Health Center, Cambridge Health Alliance, was named clinical director of eating disorder services at Walden Behavioral Care in Waltham, Mass., in June.

Walden offers inpatient, partial hospitalization and intensive outpatient levels of care for people with eating disorders.

A former clinical psychologist at Newton Wellesley Eating Disorders and Behavioral Medicine, Cherkasky holds faculty appointments at Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts School of Professional Psychology and runs her own private practice, Wellness for Women, in Wellesley, Mass.

Will Courtenay, PhD, a leading psychologist in the field of masculinity, recently received the 2004 Researcher of the Year Award from Div. 51 (Society for the Psychological Study of Men and Masculinity).

The director of Men's Health Consulting, an organization that aims to educate the public about psychological, social and behavioral influences on the health of men and boys, Courtenay is a faculty member at Harvard Medical School and the University of California, San Francisco, Medical School.

The editor of the International Journal of Men's Health, Courtenay has focused his research during the last decade on evidence-based, gender-specific interventions that health professionals can use in their work with men.

In June, the NASA-funded National Space Biomedical Research Institute, a consortium of institutions studying the health risks related to long-duration space flight, reappointed David Dinges, PhD, to his second term as leader of the neurobehavioral and psychosocial factors research team.

Dinges will manage scientists at six institutions focusing on how stress and isolation affect NASA crews during long missions. The team's objectives include developing methods to alleviate behavioral risk in space flight and enhance performance, crew motivation and quality of life.

A psychology professor and director of the unit for experimental psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Dinges has been an APA member since 1982.

Jason H. Edwards, PhD, an associate professor of psychology and co-director of the Center for Children and Families at Frostburg State University in Frostburg, Md., has received the university's 2003 Faculty Achievement Award in Academic Accomplishment. The award honors excellence in scholarship, research and professional development.

Edwards, who has been at Frostburg State University since 1997, received the award for his work concerning child and family therapy. He focuses on psychotherapy for children and adolescents, including attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder, and serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Mental Health Counseling, the quarterly journal of the American Mental Health Counselors Association.

Psychologist Laura Helmuth, PhD, has joined the staff of Smithsonian Magazine as a senior editor. Helmuth has worked for the past five years at Science, writing for the weekly magazine's news department and editing its online version, Science Now. Prior to that, she completed a science writing program at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and received her doctorate in cognitive neuroscience from the University of California, Berkeley.

The American Association of Spinal Cord Injury Psychologists and Social Workers (AASCIPSW) has awarded Sigmund Hough, PhD, director of the Postdoctoral Fellowship Programs at the Veterans Administration Boston Healthcare System, its 2004 Clinical Performance Award.

The award honors AASCIPSW members for outstanding clinical skill related to the psychosocial adjustment and rehabilitation of people with spinal cord injuries.

An APA member since 1988, Hough is a psychology instructor in the department of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School and an adjunct associate professor at Bridgewater State College.

Alaska-based psychologist Gerald Mohatt, EdD, received the Victor I. Howery Memorial Award from the National Association of Rural Mental Health (NARMH) in June. Founded in 1977, NARMH aims to develop and enhance rural mental health and substance abuse services and support mental health providers in rural areas. The association gave Mohatt the Howery award for his contributions to the field of rural mental health.

Mohatt is the founding president of the Sinte Gleska College in Rosebud, S.D., and a professor of psychology at the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF). He established a UAF master's degree program in psychology and is currently working with faculty to develop a doctoral program in psychology with an indigenous focus.