Hats off to the students, psychologists and faculty recognized by APAGS's 2001 awards program:

  • The David Pilon Scholarship for Training in Professional Psychology was awarded to Scott Walters, doctoral student at the University of New Mexico. This scholarship sponsors training and education experiences in professional practice not otherwise available to students. Walters will use the scholarship to attend a motivational interviewing "Training for Trainers" workshop that focuses on applying time-limited therapeutic substance abuse treatment methods with relatively unmotivated participants.

  • The Scott Mesh Honorary Scholarship for Research in Psychology was awarded to Janet D. Latner in the Department of Psychology at Rutgers University. The scholarship supports Latner's doctoral dissertation research to test the hypothesis that supplementing the diet with protein will reduce and prevent binge eating by increasing satiety in patients with bulimia nervosa or binge-eating disorder.

  • The Ellin Bloch and Pierre Ritchie Honorary Scholarship was awarded to Stephanie R. Carrera of Texas Tech University's counseling psychology program. Each year, the APAGS Committee selects a research topic area that relates to an important social issue or an underrepresented group in psychology--for 2001, the topic was mentoring. Carrera's research will evaluate the mentoring component of the Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program. The award topic for 2002 is "Self-care strategies for psychologists and trainees: promoting optimal performance."

  • The Nancy B. Forest and L. Michael Honaker Master's Scholarship for Research in Psychology was awarded to Shoshana Y. Kahana of Case Western Reserve University. The scholarship will fund her thesis research examining the causal relationship between maternal mood and perceptions of child behavior. Kahana's research integrates cognitive research on appraisal and perceptual bias, as well as mood congruent memory bias, thus cutting across several areas of psychology.

  • The 2001 Raymond D. Fowler Award goes to Lynn E. O'Connor, PhD from the Wright Institute. This award honors psychologists who have made outstanding contributions to students' professional development. O'Connor was nominated for this award by students Liz Albertson, Karen Godfredson and Rebecca Murray who describe her as "the most important guiding force in our progression toward our professional goals."

  • The APAGS Outstanding Professional Development Program Award goes to Larina I. Kase of Wright State University for her 2001 APAGS convention program titled, "How graduate students can pursue careers in psychology and business." This award was proposed and is partially funded by Stuart C. Tentoni, PhD, to encourage students to submit proposals for APAGS convention programming and attend and participate in the annual APA Convention.

  • The 2001 APAGS Department of the Year Award goes to the University of Florida Health Science Center's Department of Clinical and Health Psychology. This honor is given annually to a graduate psychology department that has exemplified outstanding commitment towards graduate students, recognizing superior assistance and attention to students' needs and maintaining excellent faculty-student relations. Among its achievements, the department has expanded opportunities to facilitate students' experiences in new areas of scientific inquiry (i.e., fMRI, telehealth, genetic screening), and expanded its efforts to educate students about diverse populations, the challenges of managed care, and the importance of strong advocacy on behalf of psychology.

  • The Kenneth and Mamie Clark Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Professional Development of Ethnic Minority Graduate Students was developed by the APAGS Committee on Ethnic Minority Affairs to recognize the efforts of ethnic-minority psychologists for their contributions and commitment to the academic and professional development of ethnic minority graduate students. APAGS looks forward to receiving nominations for the 2002 Clark award.

Further Reading

Information on applying for APAGS scholarships and nominating individuals for APAGS awards is available on the APAGS Web page.