Clinical Psychologist Natacha Blain, JD, PhD, chief counsel for Senator Richard J. Durbin (D-Ill.) on the Senate Judiciary Committee, was selected this last spring as the 2002-03 Supreme Court Fellow assigned to the Federal Judicial Center. Beginning this month, Blain will provide assistance with the center's research and history programs.

Four Kalamazoo College students are leading an effort for Harvard University to posthumously award Mary Whiton Calkins, a 19th-century student of the university, her doctorate. In 1894 and 1895, Harvard authorities denied Calkins the degree, which the students say she "rightly earned and deserved." Calkins received high recommendations from her professors but was denied a PhD based on her sex, the students say.

The students, Timothy Pruzinsky, Meghan Keeler, Kelly Koss and Tracy Van Tuyl, hope media attention will encourage national dialogue about women's issues. Their demands are the result of a project for a class, "Feminist psychology of women," taught by professor and psychologist Karyn J. Boatwright, PhD. For more information, visit

Psychologists Susan E. Carey, PhD, Charles R. Gallistel, PhD, and Richard E. Nisbett, PhD, were elected to the National Academy of Sciences in April. Seventy-two scientists were elected this year. The academy acts as an official adviser to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science or technology. Election to the academy, which currently has 1,907 members, represents recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in original research and is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a U.S. scientist or engineer.

The Aerospace Human Factors Association (ASHFA) honored psychologist William E. Collins, PhD, last year by establishing and funding an annual William E. Collins Award for Excellence in Human Factors. Collins is a research psychologist who retired in 2001 as director of the Federal Aviation Administration's Civil Aeromedical Institute in Oklahoma City after 41 years as a federal scientist/administrator. He is the only nonphysician to hold that post.

The award recognizes the most outstanding scientific publication in the field from the previous year.

The first award was presented in May to psychologists Douglas A. Wiegmann, PhD, and Scott A. Shappell, PhD, during the ASHFA annual meeting held in Montreal, for their work, "Human error analysis of commercial aviation accidents: application of the Human Factors Analysis and Classification System," published in the journal Aviation, Space and Environmental Medicine.

Psychologist Michael F. Enright, PhD, has been appointed to the 16-member National Advisory Committee on Rural Health (NACRH). Administered by the Office of Rural Health Policy of the Health Resources and Services Administration, NACRH advises the Secretary for Health and Human Services on the priorities and strategies that should be considered when providing and financing health-care services in rural areas. It also makes recommendations for rural data needs as well as concerns over rural mental health, rural hospitals and graduate medical education.

APA Past-president Norine G. Johnson, PhD, received an honorary doctor of science from DePauw University in recognition of outstanding leadership in promoting health and health care in the nation. Her attention to the needs of children and adolescents in her clinical and academic endeavors, as well as her role in coordinating APA's response to the Sept. 11 disaster during her presidency, were cited in the award.

Michael Lewis, PhD, has been elected to the Board of Trustees Foundation of Children's Specialized Hospital in New Jersey. Lewis is a professor of pediatrics and psychiatry at the Institute for the Study of Child Development of the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey.

On July 1, Darrell Luzzo, PhD, became the senior vice president of education for Junior Achievement (JA), an organization that aims to educate young people about business, economics and free enterprise.

Formerly JA's vice president of education research, evaluation and outreach, Luzzo was also a JA representative on the board of directors for the Jump$tart Coalition for Personal Financial Literacy.

The Health Foundation of Greater Cincinnati established in April the Eddie Lee Rall Sellers internship and has named LaTasha McKenzie Mack the first recipient of the internship. Mack is pursuing a doctoral degree in clinical psychology from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. Designed to increase leadership opportunities for minorities in health care, the nine-month internship is named to honor one of the first three African-American nursing graduates from the University of Cincinnati and includes salary and tuition expenses.

Clinical psychologist Angela B. McBride, PhD, RN, has announced plans to leave her position as University Dean of Indiana University's multicampus School of Nursing (IUSON) at the end of next June. A distinguished professor at the university, McBride has held administrative positions at IUSON since 1980. Accomplishments during her deanship include accreditation of each IUSON regional campus' undergraduate programs as well as development of health behavior research on the core campus of Indianapolis.

Planning to return to a faculty role following a leave of absence during the 2003-04 school year, McBride will devote her energies principally to scholarly pursuits.

Emil Rodolfa, PhD, director of the counseling center at the University of California, Davis and past-president of the California Board of Psychology, began a new role in August as chair of the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers.

Former U.S. Surgeon General David M. Satcher, MD, PhD, will join the Carter Center's Mental Health Task Force this month. Chaired by former first lady Rosalyn Carter, the task force works to identify mental health issues of major concern, convene diverse constituencies and develop initiatives to reduce stigma and discrimination against people with mental illnesses.

APA fellow Claude M. Steele, PhD, received an honorary degree in May from Yale University. Professor of psychology and past psychology department chair at Stanford University since 1991, Steele is the university's Lucie Stern Professor in the Social Sciences.

Ronald S. Tikofsky, PhD, associate professor of clinical radiology at Columbia University/Harlem Hospital Center, was presented with the Kuhl-Lassen Award by the Brain Imaging Council of the Society of Nuclear Medicine at its meeting in Los Angeles in June. The annual award recognizes recipients' contributions to the advancement of functional brain imaging using Single Photon Emission Tomography and Positron Emission Tomography.

Sarah E. Ullman, PhD, psychologist and associate professor of criminal justice at the University of Illinois- Chicago, was awarded a $900,000 grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to study recovery of rape victims.

Divided into three phases and scheduled to take four years, the study will investigate the dynamics of rape victims' social network following sexual assault, particularly negative social reactions. It will also look at the victims' responses to those reactions and their effects on post-traumatic stress disorder and drinking.

Capella University announced in June that Bruce Weiss, PhD, joined its Harold Abel School of Psychology as executive director. Founded in 1993, Capella University is an online academic institution that serves adult learners and employers.

Weiss, who holds a doctorate in clinical psychology from the University of Maryland, joins Capella from the Massachusetts School of Psychology, where he most recently served as chief executive officer. In addition to overall leadership in the school, Weiss will be involved in curriculum reform and organizational changes to enable the school to meet the needs of adult learners.