In Brief

APA Members Larke Nahme Huang, PhD, Stephen Wright Mayberg, PhD, and Deanna F. Yates, PhD, are serving on the President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health.

Huang is the director of research at the Center for Child Health and Mental Health Policy and a senior policy associate at the National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, both at Georgetown University's Child Development Center. Before coming to Georgetown in 1998, she worked as an independent practitioner in San Francisco and as an assistant professor in the School of Social Welfare and clinical supervisor in the psychology department at University of California, Berkeley.

Mayberg is director of the California Department of Mental Health and a psychotherapist in private practice in Carmichael, Calif. Prior to this appointment in 1993, he served as director of the Yolo County, Calif., Department of Mental Health.

Last month's Monitor reported that Yates, a private practitioner in San Antonio, Texas, was also appointed to serve on the 15-person commission, upon APA's recommendation. The commission is expected to deliver an interim report next month.

--J. DAW