January 8, 2010

APA Seeks Applicants for 4th Annual APA Excellence in Librarianship Award

Nominate a librarian for the 2010 APA Excellence in Librarianship Award. Application deadline is April 9, 2010.

Washington, DC—APA is seeking nominations for the 2010 APA Excellence in Librarianship Award, to be presented at the Educational & Behavioral Sciences Section (EBSS) Research Forum at the June 2010 American Library Association Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

This Award was created to recognize an outstanding contribution to psychology and behavioral sciences librarianship within the past 5 years, and consists of a certificate and $2,500.

The 2009 award was presented to Marietta Plank, MLS. Marietta worked in every aspect of library management over her career and is widely recognized as an expert in automation, cataloging, pricing, and various technical services applications.

The APA Excellence in Librarianship Award is open to both librarians and allied professionals with at least 5 years of professional experience. It recognizes a contribution to psychology and behavioral sciences librarianship including instruction, project development, publications, research, or service.

Examples include:

  • Development and implementation of new curricula or instructional programs
  • Innovative teaching methods
  • Outstanding research contributions
  • Demonstrated service in an organization that supports research
  • Development of a collection, access tool, or innovative reference
  • Publications such as books, journal articles, web sites, or multimedia products

Nominations are now being accepted, and should include the following:

  • Nomination statement (describe the contribution and its significance within and outside of the institution); supporting documentation may be included; and a current curriculum vitae
  • Letters of support (no more than three; at least one letter from a direct beneficiary of the services provided by the nominee is strongly encouraged)
  • Contact information for the nominee

Application Information

The application deadline is April 9, 2010.

Submissions are being accepted by email at APA Excellence in Librarianship Award.

Applications will be kept in the award pool for three years. Applications may be updated each year, as long as they are received by the award deadline.

The American Psychological Association (APA), in Washington, DC, is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States and is the world's largest association of psychologists. APA's membership includes more than 148,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students. Through its divisions in 54 subfields of psychology and affiliations with 60 state, territorial and Canadian provincial associations, APA works to advance psychology as a science, as a profession and as a means of promoting human welfare.