April 24, 2013

Psychology Instructor Earns First APA Award for Teaching at a Two-Year College

Washington state award recipient recognized for commitment to excellence in teaching.

WASHINGTON—A Washington state community college psychology professor is the first recipient of the American Psychological Association’s Excellence in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning at a Two-Year College or Campus Award.

Sue Frantz, MA, a psychology professor at Highline Community College in Des Moines, Wash., was selected for the high quality of her psychology instruction by the APA Psychology Teachers at Community Colleges (PT@CC) Teaching Awards Committee.

“Sue’s superior skills and enthusiasm for teaching made her the perfect first recipient of this award,” said Carol Enns, PhD, the APA Board of Educational Affairs liaison to the PT@CC Teaching Awards Committee. “In terms of national visibility and national service, Sue’s credentials are the strongest. She has a very lengthy list of relevant teaching presentations, excellent contributions in assessment and technology and a passion for teaching psychology.”

Frantz built a strong psychology assessment program at Highline Community College, where she is a tenured faculty member. A psychology instructor for nearly 25 years, she has won numerous awards, including the Anna Sue McNeill Assessment, Teaching and Learning Award from the state of Washington and the Teaching Excellence Award from New Mexico State University at Alamogordo, where Frantz previously taught psychology for seven years.

A national leader in instructional technologies, Frantz publishes a Technology for Educators blog and is editor of the APA Online Psychology Lab, a resource of peer-reviewed materials for the teaching of psychological science. She also serves as vice president of resources for the Society for the Teaching of Psychology (APA Division 2).

Frantz will receive $1,000, a plaque from APA and a one-year APA community college teacher affiliate membership renewal in 2014. The awards ceremony is set to take place Aug. 3, 2013, at the PT@CC and Psi Beta Awards Ceremony and Reception at APA's 2013 Annual Convention in Honolulu.

Nominees submitted a detailed letter describing their commitment to excellence in teaching at a two-year institution, three recommendation letters and curriculum vitae. All nominees must be members of PT@CC and may nominate themselves or be nominated by their peers.

The APA PT@CC was established in 2002 as a network to represent and support psychology teachers within the two-year college community. Psychology teachers at community colleges can join APA as community college teacher affiliates by visiting the APA website. PT@CC offers teaching resources, professional development, leadership and networking opportunities. Learn more about PT@CC.

The American Psychological Association, in Washington, D.C., is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States and is the world's largest association of psychologists. APA's membership includes more than 134,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students. Through its divisions in 54 subfields of psychology and affiliations with 60 state, territorial and Canadian provincial associations, APA works to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people's lives.