The Board for the Advancement of Psychology in the Public Interest (BAPPI) shall consist of not fewer than 10 members elected for three year terms. Nine of the members must be members of the American Psychological Association. The tenth member shall be a public member appointed by BAPPI for up to a three year term. The mission of the board shall be to encourage the generation and application of psychological knowledge on issues important to human well being. It shall have general concern for those aspects of psychology that involve solutions to the fundamental problems of human justice and that promote equitable and just treatment of all segments of society.

BAPPI shall encourage the utilization and dissemination of psychological knowledge to advance equal opportunity and to foster empowerment of those who do not share equitably in society's resources.

The board shall be concerned with increasing scientific understanding and training in regard to those aspects that pertain to, but are not limited to culture, class, race/ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, age and disability.

The board shall support improving educational and training opportunities for all persons in psychology and continue the promotion of culturally sensitive models for the delivery of psychological services.

The board shall be sensitive to the entire range of APA activities as they pertain to the mission of this Board and make recommendations regarding ethically and socially responsible actions by APA when appropriate.

The composition of the board shall reflect diversity in terms of ethnic minorities, gender, sexual orientation, disabilities and religion, as well as the range of interests characteristic of psychology in all its aspects. APA Bylaws, Article XI, 12.

M. Dolores Cimini, PhD (2015 Chair)

M. Dolores Cimini, PhD (2015 Chair)Cimini was raised in a bilingual environment in which English was spoken as a second language. Such language immersion, along with an accompanying emphasis on achievement and the active pursuit of opportunities, shaped Cimini's approach to learning, career choice and professional advancement. 

Staff Liaisons


  • 2015 chair: M. Dolores Cimini, PhD (2015) 
  • Linda M. Forrest, PhD (2013-15) 
  • Gary W. Harper, PhD (2014-16) 
  • Michele Harway, PhD, ABPP (2015-17) 
  • Claire Guthrie Gastañaga (2015-17)  
    public member 
  • Gayle Skawennio Morse, PhD (2014-16) 
  • Jack Tsai, PhD (2015-17) 
  • Erlanger "Earl" A. Turner, PhD. ( 2015-17) 
  • Elizabeth M. Vera, PhD (2014-16) 
  • William D. Parham, PhD (2013-15)
Board of Directors Liaisons
  • Jennifer Kelly, PhD