Dr. Nancy Boyd-Franklin has received the 2012 Beckman award and 2013 Public Interest Directorate awards will be presented furing the APA Annual Convention in Honolulu, Hawai'i

Dr. Nancy Boyd-Franklin Recipient of the Prestigious 2012 Beckman Award

Twenty-two distinguished professors from universities around the United States will each receive a $25,000 one-time cash award from the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust for inspiring their former students to make a significant contribution to society. The awards ceremony will take place at The Carter Center in Atlanta, Ga. on Saturday, Nov. 10, 2012 at 6 p.m.

The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust was founded in 2008 under the will of Gail McKnight Beckman in honor of her mother Dr. Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman. Beckman was an educator, a renowned author and a pioneer in the field of psychology. She was one of the first female psychology professors at Columbia University and later taught at the University of Pennsylvania.

The 2013 Public Interest Directorate Awards

Recipients have been selected and awards will be presented during the APA Annual Convention in Honolulu, Hawai'i.

Distinguished Contributions to Psychology in the Public Interest (Early Career):

Thema Bryant-Davis, PhD
Dr. Bryant-Davis has conducted socially-relevant research and published countless articles and book chapters on overarching topic of trauma recovery, and on global issues of HIV/AIDS and human trafficking. As president and past-president of the Society for the Psychology of Women (SPW), she undertook a bold initiative; production of a video on human trafficking that illustrates the connection between trafficking and slavery, the persuasiveness of the problem internationally and within the U.S., and best practices for working with trafficking survivors.

Distinguished Contributions to Psychology in the Public Interest (Senior Career):

Derald Wing Sue, PhD
Dr. Sue began his five-decade career as one of the first psychologists to explicitly identify the harmfulness of culturally-incompetent practice. His call to the field to address racial-cultural bias was revolutionary for its time, and subsequently, Sue chaired a 1981 Division 17 committee charged with the development of multicultural counseling competencies. Under his leadership, the committee submitted a final report that was eventually adopted as the APA’s Multicultural Guidelines (APA, 2002). This watershed document helped pave the way for psychologists’ subsequent examination of all forms of identity and intersectionality throughout research, theory and practice.

Distinguished Contributions to Research in Public Policy:

Michelle Fine, PhD
Dr. Fine has made substantial contributions to psychology that supports the solution of intransigent social problems. Professor Fine has made significant and long-term contributions to our understanding of educational inequalities, the impact of prison experiences, and violence against women. From this research, she has authored countless articles and books. Her research in these three areas has included a strong focus on the ways that gender, race and social class operate within education and prison settings, and are played out in the context of violence against women. Fine has contributed expert and other forms of testimony with the legal system and has worked closely with an enormous number of community organizations and institutions in each of these areas.

Congratulations to 2012 American Psychological Association Award Recipients

  • Yelena Wu, PhD Division 54, winner of the C. Eugene Walker Education Award in Pediatric Psychology
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center Title: "Dissemination of Pediatric Medical Regimen Adherence Assessment and Intervention Strategies: Translating Research into Clinical Practice"

  • Laurie R. Santos, PhD, Yale University, 2012 award recipient for Distinguished Early Career Scientific Contribution to Psychology

  • Fanny Cheung, PhD, Chinese University of Hong Kong , 2012 APA Award for Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Psychology, one of China‘s leading research psychologists, and at the forefront of advancing international cross-cultural research.

  • Lawrence H. Yang, PhD, Professor, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University. 2012 recipient of the Committee on Socioeconomic Status Leadership Award

  • Le Ondra Clark, PhD, 2012 APA Committee on Ethnic Minority Affairs' (CEMA) Jeffrey S. Tanaka Memorial Dissertation Award in Psychology competition. Seeing through our clients’ eyes: An assessment of cultural competence in a community mental health agency (The University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2010).

  • Marisa Franco, University of Maryland College Park
    Division 31, Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship Fund 2012 Award recipient
    Ms. Franco’s research is focused on health outcomes for people of black/white mixed race heritage. She is investigating the physiological responses to race-related stressors for this under-studied and at-risk group. The study will assess whether racial identification and levels of chronic social invalidation influences physiological stress responses to race-related stressors

  • Anahi Collado-Rodriguez, University of Maryland College Park
    Division 31, Michael Sullivan Diversity Scholarship Fund 2012 Award recipient
    Ms. Collado-Rodriguez is in her third year of graduate study. Her research is focused on evaluating a novel depression treatment, Behavioral Activation Treatment for Depression (BATD), in Latinos with limited English language proficiency. BATD has demonstrated efficacy but has not been evaluated in Latinos.