Mary Casey Jacob, PhD
LIWP Executive Committee

Mary Casey Jacob, PhD Jacob is professor in the Departments of Psychiatry and Obstetrics and Gynecologyat the University of Connecticut (UCONN) School of Medicine. She received her PhD in counseling psychology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1989 after completing an internship in Health Psychology at the Veterans Administration Medical Center (VAMC) in West Haven, Conn., and was an ELAM fellow in 2005-06. Her clinical activities and research were in the area of chronic pain management at the VAMC in West Haven, Conn., until 1991. Since then her clinical activities have been in reproductive psychology and her research has been in the area of coping and adaptation to infertility.

Jacob's leadership roles have been varied. Most recently, she served for nine years as senior associate dean for Faculty Affairs at the UCONN School of Medicine, with responsibilities including employment contracts, union negotiations, promotion and tenure, faculty development and faculty grievances. She is currently on a twelve month half time sabbatical.

Within the educational domain, Jacob was the UCONN site training director for the Hartford Consortium Psychology Internship from 1993 to 1998 and then for 11 years she served as a course director in the medical and dental school basic science curriculum.

Within the clinical domain, Jacob developed UCONN services for women with chronic pelvic pain and served as one of three faculty members who developed a very successful donor egg program at the Center for Advanced Reproductive Services.

Within the domains of administration and faculty affairs, Jacob chaired a Joint School of Medicine and School of Dental Medicine Councils' Task Force on Women's Pay Equity that resulted in parity pay increases for a significant number of women. She has actively led parts of the LCME self-study process over two cycles, successfully led an effort to write completely new bylaws for the UCONN School of Medicine, and implemented the new bylaws and now oversees their operations. She has also chaired or been a member of searches for new faculty members, department chairs and the dean of the School of Medicine.

In addition, Jacob developed and implemented routine reviews of departments and inter-department centers, developed workshops for faculty on academic advancement, worked with UCONN'S information technology department to develop an electronic voting mechanism using the single transferable voting method, and worked with the School of Dental Medicine to develop a joint faculty handbook.

Jacob has also been a leader within the Mental Health Professional Group of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM MHPG). She wrote the application and obtained approval for the ASRM MHPG to serve as an APA approved sponsor for continuing education for psychologists and served as the administrator of that program for 16 years. She was the chair of the annual meeting abstract committee for the ASRM MHPG in 1999 and 2006, and served on the abstract committee for the four years preceding each of those appointments. In addition, Jacob chaired the By-laws, Policies and Procedures Committee and successfully led the effort to rewrite the group's bylaws (2004-06).

Within Div. 38 (Health Psychology) of APA, Jacob has served in various capacities. Most recently, she has been an abstract reviewer for the 2006-13 annual meetings and was the poster session chair in 2007. She is a founding member of the APA LIWP Executive Committee and chairs the Admissions Committee. She is also a core faculty member of the Faculty Leadership Academy organized by the department of pediatrics at Columbia University.

Jacob was the recipient of the Timothy B. Jeffrey Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Health Psychology awarded by Div. 38 (Society for the Psychology of Women) of the APA in 2006 and the recipient of a certificate of recognition for "Generations of Women Moving History Forward," awarded by the Women's History Program at the University of Connecticut Health Center in 2007.