Prescriptive Authority for Psychologists: A History and Guide

Pages: 228
Item #: 4317002
ISBN: 978-1-55798-977-2
List Price: $19.95
Member/Affiliate Price: $19.95
Copyright: 2003
Format: Hardcover
Availability: In Stock
FREE Shipping

For individuals in the U.S. & U.S. territories


Prescriptive Authority for Psychologists examines the struggle of psychologists to acquire the authority to prescribe psychotropic medications. The chapter authors, all psychologists at the forefront of the movement for prescriptive authority, recount the academic, political, and organizational issues that must be addressed to make this expansion of psychological practice a reality.

The book compares the history of the efforts of psychologists to acquire prescriptive authority with that of other healthcare professions, such as medical doctors, who at the beginning of the 20th century, competed with nurses and pharmacists for the right to prescribe. Authors provide details on the structure of existing prescriptive training programs as well as political strategies that advocates have used to advance legislation.

The book also examines the future of prescriptive authority and how psychologists can integrate it into their treatment armamentarium to achieve the goal of becoming primary providers of behavioral healthcare services. This volume is both an exciting history and a powerful piece of advocacy that bequeaths a vision of the future of psychological practice.

Table of Contents
Editor Bios