Results 110 of 39 for "Review"X related to "Division spotlight: January 2013"
Results 110 of 39
Previous 1 2 3 ... Next Sort by:
  • 1.Under the Skin (Book Review)
    This book is unique as an in depth psychoanalytic study of body modification, and needs to be recognized and commended for its insightfulness and the comprehensive integration of psychoanalysis with cultural studies, literature, art and film.
    Review (January 2011)
  • 2.Sensuality and Sexuality Across the Divide of Shame (Book Review)
    Mace, Moorey, and Roberts are British psychiatrists who have assembled diverse authors to illuminate and critique the state of thinking about empirically validated treatments (EVTs). The collection of essays under review is a critique: the contributors are less interested in weighing the inventory of what we know and are much more interested in puzzling over what it is we are thinking about.
    Review (January 2011)
  • 3.The Puerto Rican Syndrome (Book Review)
    This book provides a review of a syndrome that continues to plague the Puerto Rican community, a treatise on Lacan’s applicability with disadvantaged and historically oppressed groups, and a lesson in the social reality of Puerto Ricans in the United States.
    Review (January 2011)
  • 4.Thinking in Circles: An Essay on Ring Composition (Book Review)
    Our current view of time is so linear that we do not realize how much it organizes our thinking about the mind. Ring composition, however, implies a more circular view of time. In analysis, we do have many clinical observations and theories that, whether we realize it or not, allude to a more circular view of time.
    Review
  • 5.Heterosexual Masculinities: Contemporary Perspectives From Psychoanalytic Gender Theory (Book Review)
    Anthony F. Tasso reviews the book "Heterosexual Masculinities: Contemporary Perspectives From Psychoanalytic Gender Theory" by Bruce Reis and Robert Grossmark.
    Review (January 2011)
  • 6.Bullying: Experiences and Discourses of Sexuality and Gender (Book Review)
    Bullying and its newer transformation, cyberbullying, has been studied since the 1990s, but you would never know that by looking at school policies and procedures regarding bullying and various other forms of harassment.
    Review (January 2014)
  • 7.Transgender movement and psychoanalysis
    To the delight of some and the horror of others, the world is alive with gender transgressive social movements.
    Review (January 2012)
  • 8.The Brain That Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph From the Frontiers of Science (Book Review)
    Doidge takes the reader by the hand and carefully explains that the brain can and does change throughout life. Contrary to the original belief that after childhood the brain begins a long process of decline, he shows us that our brains have the remarkable power to grow, change, overcome disabilities, learn, recover, and alter the very culture that has the potential to deeply affect human nature.
    Review (January 2011)
  • 9.Change in Psychoanalysis: An Analyst's Reflections on the Therapeutic Relationship (Book Review)
    Shelley Galasso Bonanno reviews the book "Change in Psychoanalysis: An Analyst's Reflections on the Therapeutic Relationship" by Chris Jaenicke.
    Review (January 2011)
  • 10.First Do No Harm (Book Review)
    Stephen Hartman reviews an edited collection of papers from an international group of writers, representing a deeply important set of issues and problems regarding psychology's and psychoanalysis' relation to militarism and warmaking.
    Review (January 2011)
Previous 1 2 3 ... Next Sort by:
ADVERTISEMENT
Results 110 of 39 for "Review"X related to "Division spotlight: January 2013"