July-August 2005 Announcements

Congratulations to All of our Student Travel Award Winners!; Nominations Needed for Distinguished Service Award

By Suzanne Wandersman

Congratulations to All our Student Travel Award Winners!

The Science Directorate sponsors an annual competition for graduate student travel awards, the purpose of which is to help psychology graduate students travel to the annual APA Convention to present their research. This year, 80 students received $300 to support their travel to the 2005 APA Convention in Washington, DC. Congratulations to all of our Student Travel Award winners!

Jacqueline Baron
Temi Bidjerano
Kerstin Blomquist
Julie Blundon
Jenny Carrillo
Phuong Chau
Hsui-Lan Cheng
YoonJung Cho
Jill Chrisman
Erica Chu
Joyce Chu
Christie Chung
Suzannah Creech
Kristen Dams-O’Connor
Eric Deemer
Courtney DeThomas
Katherine Fiori
Frank Gallo
Michele Garber
Ravi Gatha
Jennifer Gianico
 Erin Goforth
Felicia Griffin-Fennell
Paul Heideman
Paul Hommersen
Anita Hund
Daniel Jimenez
Sherlyn Jimenez
Jennifer Jordan
Marid Kaewchinda
Nina Kaiser
Lara Kassoff
Sara Kim
Espen Klausen
Sara Konrath
Brittany Lakin
Jung Lee
Mariela Leon-Velazquez
Sara Lindberg
Adriana Lopez
Kelly Love
Tara Mahoney
 Caitlin McEntarfer
Christina Meade
Masum Momaya
Wendy Morua
Vani Murugesan
Michelle Niemeier
Lizette Ojeda
David Pantalone
Meredith Patterson
Jennifer Perry
Angela Pfaffenberger
Laura Phillips
Caryanne Pope
Paul Poteat
Anthony Puliafico
Tatsiana Razzhavaikina
Reuben Robbins
Ariadne Schemm
Rebecca Schlafer
Nicholas Scull
Matthew Shake
 Mun-Yi Shea
Frances Shen
Michelle Sherrill
Ray Shiraishi
Angela Soth
Sarah Tartar
Melissa Tester
Diana Tyson
Shannon Wald
Mei-Chuan Wang
Cortney Warren
Trisha Weeks
Candace White
Charmeka Whitehead
Naomi Wiesenthal
Todd Wilkinson
Sara Wright
Satoris Youngcourt

Nominations Needed for Distinguished Service Award

By Suzanne Wandersman

Scientists who serve the discipline can be honored with a new award created by the APA Board of Scientific Affairs (BSA). The Distinguished Service to Psychological Science Award recognizes individuals who are committed to serving the discipline in a variety of ways. This award aims to encourage a culture of service among scientists. A culture of service is one of the themes included in the Science Directorate’s and BSA’s new initiative, Psychological Science for the 21st Century (PSY21).

This new award will be granted to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to psychological science through their commitment to a culture of service. Award recipients will receive a prize of $1,000. The deadline for nominations is August 25, 2005.

Nominees will have demonstrated their service to the discipline by aiding in the governance of various psychological associations (e.g., as a member of boards, committees, task forces, officer roles); editing journals; reviewing grant proposals; mentoring students and colleagues; advocating for psychological science’s best interests with state and federal lawmakers; and promoting the value of psychological science in the public eye. Nominees may be involved in one service area, many of the areas, or all of the service areas noted above. An individual’s service to the discipline and not a person’s scholarly achievements will be the focus of this award.

When submitting a nomination please provide the following:

• A letter of nomination that describes and supports the individual’s contributions (e.g., nature of the individual’s service to psychological science, positions held). The nomination letter should be no more than two pages in length.

• A curriculum vitae.

• Three letters of support from individuals familiar with the nominee’s service to the discipline. These letters can be from colleagues who have served with the nominee, a Dean familiar with the nominee’s service, former students, or colleagues.

Nominations will be accepted only as electronic submissions to Please be sure to submit the nomination as a package that includes the letter of nomination, vita, and three letters of support. If you have any questions about your nomination, please send an email to