Also in this Issue

APA Science Committees: Seeking to Meet Your Needs

Mission statements from each of the APA Science Committees.

The 2006 APA science board and committee members are on the lookout for new opportunities for psychological science. These individuals, and those serving on the APA Board of Directors and Council of Representatives, are the critical players in our deliberations about and actions for science. It is their generous contribution of time and effort that make APA science policy and program development possible.

At the beginning of each year, newly elected members join the science board and committees that oversee Directorate and science activities within APA. Below is a list of the members and short statements about the mission of each group.

Board of Scientific Affairs (BSA)

Ronald T. Brown, Chair, Temple University (2005-07)
Sandra Graham, UCLA (2004-06)
Barbara Landau, Johns Hopkins University (2006-08)
Hazel R. Markus, Stanford University (2004-06)
Liora P. Schmelkin, Hofstra University (2005-07)
Norman E. Spear, Binghamton University-SUNY (2005-07)
Lois E. Tetrick, George Mason University (2006-08)
John Weisz, Harvard University (2004-06)
Alice M. Young, Texas Tech University (2006-08)

The Board of Scientific Affairs has general concern for all aspects of psychology as a science, including the continued encouragement, development, and promotion of psychology as a science; scientific aspects of the program at the Annual Convention; and psychology's relations with other scientific bodies. It has particular responsibility for liaison with agencies giving financial support to scientific projects, for awards and honors in recognition of scientific achievement, and for seeking new ways in which the Association can assist scientific activities.

Committee on Scientific Awards (COSA)

Nora Newcombe, Chair, Temple University (2004-06)
John F. Disterhoft, Northwestern University (2005-07)
Susan Mineka, Northwestern University (2004-06)
Kevin R. Murphy, Pennsylvania State University (2006-08)
Anne Treisman, Princeton University (2006-08)
Timothy D. Wilson, University of Virginia (2005-07)

The Committee on Scientific Awards selects individuals to receive the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, the Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Psychology, and the Distinguished Scientific Award for an Early Career Contribution to Psychology.

Committee on Animal Research and Ethics (CARE)

Nancy K. Dess, Chair, Occidental College (2004-06)
Steven I. Dworkin, University of North Carolina at Wilmington (2005-07)
Robert Lickliter, Florida International University (2006-08)
Mary W. Meagher, Texas A&M University (2005-07)
James K. Rowlett, Harvard Medical School (2003-05)
David A. Washburn, Georgia State University (2006)

The Committee on Animal Research and Ethics is responsible for safeguarding responsible research with animals, other than humans, disseminating accurate information about such research, reviewing the ethics of such research and recommending and disseminating guidelines for ethical conduct when involving animals other than humans in research, teaching, and practical applications.

Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA)

Jeffery Braden, Chair, North Carolina State University (2004-06)
Barbara Byrne, University of Ottawa (2004-06)
Madonna G. Constantine, Columbia University, Teachers' College (2006-08)
David F. Lohman, University of Iowa (2005-07)
Eric N. Miller, UCLA (2006-08)
Samuel O. Ortiz, St. John's University (2005-07)
Freddy A. Paniagua, University of Texas, Galveston (2005-07)
Antonio Puente, University of North Carolina (2004-06)
Chockalingam Viswesvaran, Florida International University (2006-08)

The Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA) is responsible for addressing problems regarding sound psychological testing and assessment practices. Members of CPTA serve as technical advisors to other APA boards and committees on all issues affecting testing and assessment as it involves policy, practice, and science; monitoring actions of government and other organizations concerning regulation and control of assessment and testing practices; maintaining knowledge of and concern regarding current policy issues on the use of tests and assessment in clinical, counseling, educational, and employment settings; and promoting the appropriate use of tests and sound assessment practices.

Ad Hoc Committee to Advance Research (CAR)

Arthur Daniel Fisk, Chair, Georgia Tech
Karen Calhoun, Georgia State University
Neil Charness, Florida State University
Thomas Eissenberg, Virginia Commonwealth University
Diane Scott-Jones, Boston College

The mission of the Ad Hoc Committee to Advance Research will be to: (a) monitor the status of legislation, regulations, and professional policies on topics germane to the responsible conduct of research including the protection of human participants in behavioral research, data acquisition, management, sharing, and ownership, mentor/trainee relationships, publication practices and responsible authorship, peer review, collaborative science, research misconduct and conflicts of interest and to ascertain their impact on research in the behavioral sciences; (b) engage in activities to promote the responsible conduct of research including workshops, curriculum development, and dissemination; develop resources, including guidelines for responsible conduct of research in the behavioral sciences; and, (c) establish and maintain cooperative relations with organizations sharing similar interests.

More information about this new committee

Ad Hoc Science Student Council (APASSC)

2005 Roster:
Christopher Lo, Past-Chair (2004-2005) University of Toronto
Ignacio David Acevedo-Polakovich (2004-2006) University of Kentucky
Brian Ayotte, Incoming Chair (2005-2006) West Virginia University
Brandon C. Beltz (2005-2006) George Mason University
Adam Carrico, M.S. (2004-2005) University of Miami
Hannah Hanh Nguyen (2004-2005) Michigan State University
Jen Perry
(2004-2005) University of Minnesota
Stephanie Washburn (2005-2006) Texas A&M University

Several positions are now open for 2006.

The APA Science Student Council represents the interests and concerns of graduate students in psychological science. The Council is broadly representative of the discipline. It provides advice to BSA and the Directorate on programs and activities that would be of benefit to graduate students. It arranges APA Convention programming of interest to science-oriented students, and works closely with APAGS on a variety of projects. It selects recipients for the APASSC Early Researcher Awards.

BSA, CPTA, CARE, and APASSC will meet on April 7-9, 2006. In the fall, CPTA and CARE will meet on September 29-October 1, 2006 and BSA and APASSC will meet November 3-5, 2006. COSA is scheduled to have its meeting October 27-28, 2006. The Ad Hoc Committee to Advance Research will meet February 3-4, 2006.