Also in this Issue

APA Science Committees: Seeking to Meet Your Needs

The 2008 APA science board and committee members are on the lookout for new opportunities for psychological science.

The 2008 APA science board and committee members are on the lookout for new opportunities for psychological science. At the beginning of each year, newly elected members join the science board and committees that oversee Directorate and science activities within APA. Below is a list of the members and short statements about the mission of each group.

Board of Scientific Affairs (BSA)

Alice M. Young, Chair
Texas Tech University (2006-08)
Leona S. Aiken
Arizona State University (2008-10)
Toni C. Antonucci
University of Michigan (2007-09)
Patricia M. Greenfield
UCLA (2007-09)
Barbara Landau
Johns Hopkins University (2006-08)
Frederick T. L. Leong
Michigan State University (2007-09)
Jennifer Manly
Columbia University (2008-10)
Vickie M. Mays
UCLA (2008-10)
Lois E. Tetrick
George Mason University (2006-08)

The Board of Scientific Affairs has general concern for all aspects of psychology as a science, including the continued encouragement, development, and promotion of psychology as a science; scientific aspects of the program at the Annual Convention; and psychology's relations with other scientific bodies. It has particular responsibility for liaison with agencies giving financial support to scientific projects, for awards and honors in recognition of scientific achievement, and for seeking new ways in which the Association can assist scientific activities.

Committee on Scientific Awards (COSA)

Kevin R. Murphy, Chair
Pennsylvania State University (2006-08)
Monica R. Biernat
University of Kansas (2008-10)
Michael Davis
Emory University (2008-10)
Susan Gelman
University of Michigan (2007-09)
Steven Hollon
Vanderbilt University (2007-09)
Anne Treisman
Princeton University (2006-08)

The Committee on Scientific Awards selects individuals to receive the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, the Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Psychology, and the Distinguished Scientific Award for an Early Career Contribution to Psychology.

Committee on Animal Research and Ethics (CARE)

James K. Rowlett, Chair
Harvard Medical School (2006-08)
Jennifer Higa
Texas Christian University (2007-09)
Robert Lickliter
Florida International University (2006-08)
Theresa Jones
University of Texas (2008-10)
Pamela Scott-Johnson
Morgan State University (2007-09)
Eric P. Wiertelak
Macalester College (2008-2010)

The Committee on Animal Research and Ethics is responsible for safeguarding responsible research with animals, other than humans, disseminating accurate information about such research, reviewing the ethics of such research and recommending and disseminating guidelines for ethical conduct when involving animals other than humans in research, teaching, and practical applications.

Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA)

Chockalingam Viswesvaran, Chair
Florida International University (2006-08)
Marcia M. Andberg
Marcia Andberg Associates, LLC (2007-09)
Madonna G. Constantine
Columbia University, Teachers' College (2006-08)
Dawn P. Flanagan
St. John's University (2008-10)
Ron K. Hambleton
University of Massachusetts (2008-10)
Michael J. Kolen
University of Iowa (2007-09)
Robert J. McCaffrey
Albany Neuropsychological Assoc. (2008-10)
Eric N. Miller
UCLA (2006-08)
Frank C. Worell
UC Berkeley (2007-09)

The Committee on Psychological Tests and Assessment (CPTA) is responsible for addressing problems regarding sound psychological testing and assessment practices. Members of CPTA serve as technical advisors to other APA boards and committees on all issues affecting testing and assessment as it involves policy, practice, and science; monitoring actions of government and other organizations concerning regulation and control of assessment and testing practices; maintaining knowledge of and concern regarding current policy issues on the use of tests and assessment in clinical, counseling, educational, and employment settings; and promoting the appropriate use of tests and sound assessment practices.

Ad Hoc Committee to Advance Responsible Research (CARR)

Arthur Daniel Fisk, Chair
Georgia Tech
Karen Calhoun
Georgia State University
Neil Charness
Florida State University
Thomas Eissenberg
Virginia Commonwealth University
Martha Mann
University of Texas at Arlington
Diane Scott-Jones
Boston College

The mission of the Ad Hoc Committee to Advance Research will be to: (a) monitor the status of legislation, regulations, and professional policies on topics germane to the responsible conduct of research including the protection of human participants in behavioral research, data acquisition, management, sharing, and ownership, mentor/trainee relationships, publication practices and responsible authorship, peer review, collaborative science, research misconduct and conflicts of interest and to ascertain their impact on research in the behavioral sciences; (b) engage in activities to promote the responsible conduct of research including workshops, curriculum development, and dissemination; develop resources, including guidelines for responsible conduct of research in the behavioral sciences; and, (c) establish and maintain cooperative relations with organizations sharing similar interests. (See this article also in this month's PSA for more information about this new committee.)

Ad Hoc APA Science Student Council (APASSC)

Marc Berman, Chair
University of Michigan (2007-2008)
Abby Adler
Ohio State University (2008-2009)
Jennifer Brielmaier
George Mason University (2007-2008)
Suzanne Dean
Wright State University (2007-2008)
Camilla Hileman
University of Miami (2007-2008)
Lisa Jaremka
University of California, San Diego (2008-2009)
Stanley King
University of Virginia (2008-2009)
Gloria Luong
University of California, Irvine (2008-2009)
Felix Thoemmes
Arizona State University (2006-2008)

The APA Science Student Council represents the interests and concerns of graduate students in psychological science. The Council is broadly representative of the discipline. It provides advice to BSA and the Directorate on programs and activities that would be of benefit to graduate students. It arranges APA Convention programming of interest to science-oriented students, and works closely with APAGS on a variety of projects. It selects recipients for the APASSC Early Researcher Awards.

BSA, CPTA, and CARE will meet on March 28-30, 2008. In the fall, CPTA and CARE will meet on September 19-21, 2008 and BSA will meet October 24-26, 2008. The Ad Hoc Committee to Advance Research will meet February 1-2, 2008. The Science Student Council meets in the spring and fall.

These individuals, and those serving on the APA Board of Directors and Council of Representatives, are the critical players in our deliberations about and actions for science. It is their generous contribution of time and effort that make APA science policy and program development possible.