Also in this Issue

Eckstein, Gauthier Honored as Troland Research Award Recipients

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) announced the recipients of a number of important awards for 2008.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) announced the recipients of a number of important awards for 2008 on January 22, 2008. Among them were the recipients of the Troland Research Awards, among the most prestigious of awards for early career psychological scientists.

Miguel Eckstein, Associate Professor of Psychology at University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB), and Isabel Gauthier, Associate Professor of Psychology at Vanderbilt University, will be presented with the Troland Awards at an April 27 ceremony at the Academy’s 145th Annual Meeting. Each will receive an award of $50,000 to “recognize unusual achievement and to further their research within the broad spectrum of experimental psychology.”

Eckstein, who is Director of the Vision and Image Understanding Laboratory at UCSB, was named “for sophisticated theoretical analysis and modeling that address fundamental issues in perception and cognition and their application to the practical problems of medical imaging.” Eckstein is a recipient of the Optical Society of America Young Investigator Award and the National Science Foundation Early CAREER Award. His particular areas of interest include computational human vision, visual attention, and the perception of medical images.

Gauthier investigates visual object recognition, with emphasis on the plasticity of recognition mechanisms and their neural substrates. She is Director of the Object Perception Laboratory at Vanderbilt University. Gauthier was a 2003 recipient of the APA Distinguished Scientific Award for an Early Career Contribution to Psychology. She was honored “for seminal experiments on the role of visual expertise in the recognition of complex objects including faces and for exploration of brain areas activated by this recognition.”

The Troland Research Awards were established by a bequest from Leonard T. Troland and have been presented since 1984. Please visit the NAS website for a full listing of recipients and more information about the award.